Pork Chop and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
I've made this recipe twice now with a few changes. I started off by doubling the pork chops and seasoning with salt and pepper when I browned them. I used long cooking rice the first time and instant the second time. It wasn't bad with the instant rice but it held up better with the long cooking. I didn't have any cream of celery on hand so I used two cans cream of mushroom soup. I also added a small can of sliced mushrooms and a bag of frozen broccoli florets to make it a complete meal. I added some garlic salt and a little black pepper when mixing up the ingredients. It was delicious and made great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BizzyBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This was absolutely delicious and what Iwas looking for! I only modified slightly. I added some s/p and garlic salt to the pork chops when cooking them and cut them into pieces before I put them in the casserole dish. This helped 4 pork chops go a long way. Instead of the plain cream of mushroom, I went with cream of mushroom with roasted garlic and added a small can of mushrooms. Since some of the reviews mentioned the mushy rice, I cut the cooking time to 1.5 hours and everything was done perfectly! We went back for seconds and this will be my go-to recipe for casseroles for sure. I'm glad there is a little left over for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Have made this for my family several times and they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjkelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is really good. Easy to fix and not that expensive if you use pork chops you got on sale. I have prepared this exactly as written and prepared it slightly modified in order to use what I had on-hand (substituting Cream of Mushroom for Cream of Celery). Both ways produced stellar results. The only modification I now make is to add a little bit of ground pepper to the meat before it goes in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Humphrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was a tasty and quick weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I've tried this recipe twice-once using boneless pork chops and once using bone-in chops. Both times the chops came out DRY AS CAN be. 275 for 2 hours is far too long- Even after keeping my eyes on the dish and taking it out early it was a bust. I did add a third cup extra milk the second time to prevent the gummy rice from the first time ( and as other reviewers have noted)and both times I used long grain rice -not instant. The rice had fantastic flavor (which alone gives this recipe its stars), but was too mushy for my husband. The pork was so dry both times we decided not to try this recipe anymore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Wondering if this can be frozen and baked later?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I would have given this a 5 star except for two things 1) needed a little more flavor - so 2nd time I made I added a package of dry onion soup mix 2) instant rice makes it mushy so 2nd time I made it I used brown and long grain wild rice and 3) I added a whole can of chicken broth and upped the rice to 1.5 cups since I used 8 palm sized butterfly boneless chops. It was definitely a 5-star recipe with just a little extra seasoning and regular rice. And no I don't like to change a recipe then rate it but if you are going to make it as written, I think you will be disappointed (read the other comments) and it doesn't need to be re-written...just needs a little tweak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This is a tried and true recipe. Anyone can tweak a recipe but without the foundation that this recipe provides,you run the risk of failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I have made this several times, and it is well liked at my house. I switch out the cream of celery with other soups sometimes, just for a change. Cream of potato is good. I also season the chops with some tex joy steak seasoning before I brown them. Gives it a little more flavor. Overall, great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chop and Potato Casserole

A simple, delicious hearty meal!

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States