Pork Chop and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
The pork came out dry and the potatoes were tasty. I left the cover off for half of the time and I think that's why the pork turned out dry (maybe it was browning the pork first). I did add a little more spices but only a light sprinkle. I will try this meal the way it is written and see what difference it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
We enjoyed this. Will try again with some modifications that other reviewers suggested and I am sure we will make it again and again, especially as there are often pork sales where we live. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This porkchop recipe is my all time favorite! My husband can't get enough of it either. Easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
The pork chops were overcooked, the potatoes were undercooked. I sliced the potatoes thinly, but they really needed another 15 minutes. I had boneless pork chops, about 1 inch thick, but they got too dry. I did add seasoning as other reviewers recommended, and am glad I did. Overall, a good flavor, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Thought this recipe was a little bland without any spices. I did add some spices to the pork-chops while I browned them, but I think next time I would season the hashbrowns also. Definately needs to cook longer when using the hashbrown potatoes. More like 60 to 65 min. Also think that pork chops should have the bone in them, because they are alot more apt to stay moister with being in the oven so long. This recipe needs a little fine tuning and will be a 5 star recipe, which I will try to do and then re-rate it :) But love the idea of it because it is easy, and my family are pork-chop fans. Definately a good filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlebeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Excellent Winter Comfort Food. I added rosemary,butter, and salt & pepper between the potato layers for more flavor. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Tasty and relatively simple to make - the only arduous part is thinly slicing the potatoes. I added a finely chopped clove of garlic and a couple splashes of hot sauce for a little extra zip. My husband loved the pork chops - giving them a really good brown first was essential! The potatoes were pretty good, but I think next time, I'm just going to bake the pork chops and onions in the casserole, make skin-on mashed baby potatoes and reserve the sauce to put on the potatoes as liberally or conservatively as I want - and I wouldn't have to slice all the potatoes. The pork chops were soooo good, though. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsteeves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Excellent! This one is just like the one my mother made. The only thing I would change is the method of cooking. I use my small (5qt) Nesco cooker and the potatoes always come out tender, and the pork chops are cooked to perfection. You can also substitute chicken for the pork - GREAT taste! I have also used "O'Grady's" frozen hashbrown potatoes as well. This is a very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made this using 3 pork chops instead of 6. I also used a can of cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom (don't like mushrooms). I kept everything else the same as in the original 5 serving recipe. Very good! This will definitely be a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was really good with a little tweaking. I normally don't review something I change up, but this turned out well, and I wanted to make these suggestions: I tossed the sliced potatoes with salt, pepper, mushroom soup, onions, cheese, and a few tablespoons of melted bacon grease (bacon grease may just be what made it so good). Skipped the milk. Just wasn't necessary. I placed the chops in a casserole dish and dumped the potato mixture on top. Covered with foil, and cooked in the oven for about an hour, until the potatoes were tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States