Pork Chop and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I made it exactly like the recipe called for, and the soup cooked down to nothing and the pork and potatoes were overcooked. I did like the taste, all I added was salt and pepper. Next time, I plan on adding lots of mushrooms and watching it better so nothing overcooks. It was a very easy and potentially delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
All in all it is a good recipe but to add some flavor I always add onion to it...just slice them up in O's and add it to the soup mixture before adding it to the oven..just a little tip :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
The pork was very tender, but all in all, the recipe was extremely bland. I even stopped cooking 10 minutes early, because the soup mixture was completely cooking down to nothing. I was expecting more of a casserole (creamy) taste and look to it, but it was just pork and potatoes when it was said and done. I think with some tweaking, this recipe could be delicious. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Sorry....extremely bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This was so good! My husband and kids loved it. The meat was very tender and the potatoes tasty. I added garlic powder, salt, pepper and onions and had it with fresh green beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
The only thing I changed with this recipe was I rubbed the chops with orgeno, salt and pepper. The I spinkled them with garlic powder when they were cooking. I also added more potatoes since I used 6 pork chops and I used 2 cans of mushrooms soup. This was SO GOOD! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I'm sorry but we did not like this at all. The pork was bland and there was no flavor with the potatoes at all. I don't think that I could give a true rating if I was going to change everything and add a ton of spices. As written...too bland, but tinkering with spices your family likes will definately help with flavor. I won't be making as written, but would try again with lots of spices. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
my whole family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
The *** I gave this was mostly my fault... Here's what I did: I sprinkled the pork chops with seasoning salt, garlic powder, and Italian seasoning before browning them with some chopped onion. To the soup, I added garlic powder, Italian seasoning, and chives. Now, here is where I probably made the mistake: Per previous comments, I wanted to make sure there was enough sauce, so I added a small can of evaporated milk. DO NOT ADD EVAPORATED MILK!! My potatoes ended up sticking to the bottom of the pan so bad that I was scraping overcooked/almost-burnt potato chunks out. The potatoes ended up tasting GREAT (even the overcooked, scraped-out bits!), but the chops didn't come out so well. My daughter ate some of the chops but both my husband and I were really not thrilled with the chops. They were really dry. Again, probably my fault. Next time, I'll either use the original recipe (plus seasonings) in the slow cooker or I'll just cook the potatoes in the soup and prepare the chops separately. Thanks for an interesting base recipe! *** UPDATED 12/14/05 - Made it again without the milk, same stuck-to-the-pan end. Must be my pan. It's easy and convenient, the taste is fine (once you spice up a regular can of soup)... But the chops weren't great and the baked-on factor means I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This was a very easy and yummy recipe! I added some Italian seasoning to the pork chops before browning and used the roasted garlic mushroom soup. My hubby loved it and it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States