Pork Chop and Cabbage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
This was really good. I cut the recipe in half since there is just two of us. It worked out well. I used milk with the soup rather than water, I also used cream of mushroom. I added pepper and garlic powder when I was layering the cabbage and potatoes. I also sprinkled salt, pepper, and garlic powder on the chops before I browned them. I used cooking spray rather than oil. Our chops were a bit dry, but not too bad. I think next time I would either cover the dish to prevent the chops from drying out, or pour the soup over the top of the chops too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
My husband rated this "awesome" I was looking for a recipe to use up some coleslaw mix. This was perfect. I browned the boneless chops first in olive oil, then in the same skillet, browned the onion, then added the soup and water. I layered the cabbage mixure and sliced potatoes in a baking dish and poured the sauce over the top. I placed the chops on top and baked as directed. I served it with cooked rice, delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDDGRANCH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
DELICIOUS;I added 1 can cheddar cheese soup and 1/2can milk,onion powder, shredded carrots,garlic salt, pepper. Baked COVERED for 1Hr30mins. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBORAHARV614
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this dish. I did change it up a little... I used a large head of cabbage, only 3 potatoes and added a bit of garlic. I baked the uncovered cabbage and potatoes at 400 for 30 minutes before adding the pork chops. I then covered the casserole, lowered the temp to 350 and baked for an hour. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Delicious. I cover the dish for most of the cooking, only removing the foil to brown the chops at the very end. This keeps them moist. The whole family likes this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was simple and tasty! I used cream of mushroom soup. Sorry but cream of chicken's just kind of nasty. Turned out great. I recommend using a little salt and pepper on the pork chops. I pulled it out like 15 min early because I was afraid the meat would be tough. Glad I did that. I don't think it needs to cook quite so long. I also recommend using the deepest 9x13 baking dish you have. It's a pretty tall casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
My family loved it. We do lots of spicy foods and this was a perfect alternative. Reminds me of my eastern European family "comfort" foods. I would bury the chops a bit, but not cover it with foil. The family liked the potatoes that got a bit cruncy. Many options for alternatives. I would also use it with kielbasa. Maybe throw in some bacon crunchies. Try to stay low on salt in our house here, but could have used a little more. Family says a definate keeper. Me too! Oh used the food processor to slice the potatoes super thin. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was pretty good. I seasoned the 1/2 inch thick pork chops w/a little garlic salt/onion powder before browning them. I was concerned about the chops drying out per other reviews so I covered the casserole dish w/foil after 45 min. or so of baking. The cabbage tended to be cooked to the texture of boiled cabbage; I may have perfered a little towards al dente'. Also per reviews I sliced the potatoes fairly thin; wished I had gone thicker. My 9x13 accommodated layers of: cabbage, potatoe, cabbage, potatoe, cabbage then chops, and I forgot to salt the layers until the last layer of cabbage, so I salted it good then. I don't think it mattered that much. The chops were fork tender. Overall, good winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldneyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Very good dish. I, too, added extra seasoning. I sauteed the onions and garlic while I browned the chops. I followed others and sliced the potatoes thin - in retrospect I wish I had sliced them thicker. My pork was a bit dry - so I will probably immerse it into the mix next time. Overall... we were very satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
Great dish for a snowy Colorado evening. Next time I will add a can of milk instead of water. I also followed another reviewers advice and covered the dish for half the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States