Pork Chop and Cabbage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was a great, easy meal to make after a day of work. I would make sure to pour the soup over the pork chops, but I wouldn't cover it again. It made the cabbage and potatoes very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I was a bit leery about this one but I tried it and it was delicious. The only modifications that I made was using cream of mushroom soup (didn't have chicken soup) instead of chicken and one cup of chicken broth instread of water. Amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pakenham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
We enjoyed this. I covered with it with foil for 1 hour and cooked it for another 10 minutes to let it brown a litte, and the pork chops were very moist and tender. I added salt and pepper to taste, but might add a little rosemary next time. I used cole slaw mix with carrots instead of just cabbage as a short cut and to add some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Made this for the first time last night and we liked it. My baking dish was overflowing so I covered it in foil and placed it on a cookie sheet while baking. I only cooked this for 1 hour and the pork chops came out perfect! My fiance said it was a little bland (though he over salts everything). I think I will add a bit more salt and experiment with spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Delicious. I had to make a few changes, only because of what I had on hand. Changes - I used sliced red potatoes and bone-in pork chops. Other than that, I stayed pretty much true to the recipe. I put all the cabbage on the bottom, topped with the potatoes, poured the simmered soup, water, and onions over and then topped with the browned pork chops. I added salt only on the top of the chops. It didn't need anymore. Delicious. I got my husband to eat some veggies by putting in the cabbage. It didn't taste like cabbage at all, really. The cabbage just blended in with the potatoes and had no bad cabbage bite at all. A mellow cabbage, soft, hardly noticed at all by my vegetable-phobic husband. This was so good. I ate two bowls of the pots and cabbage. The juice is excellent. I added some rice on hubs presentation plate....soaked up those savory juices, so exellent and tasty. Yum yum! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
3 as is, but if you season it could be a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Delicious. I cover the dish for most of the cooking, only removing the foil to brown the chops at the very end. This keeps them moist. The whole family likes this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
okay, this was very good. I used Cream of mushroom soup since it was what i had on hand and i salt and peppered the top cabbage layer before pouring the sauce. I used olive oil to brown the chops. I only had them in the pan for a couple minutes for each side so when they cooked in the casserole there would still be plenty of juice and they would not dry out. No need to cover the dish while baking. I also seasoned the chop with salt and pepper while browning. It was a very good recipe and my husband was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ft Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This recipe was a nice change from our usual pork chop dinner. Next time I make this recipe I would like to layer cabbage,mashed potatoes and repeat. I love mashed potatoes with cabbage and pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of two:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mayfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was ok. Very filling. next time will use to cans of soup and milk in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States