Pork Chop and Cabbage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I think the recipe is fine pretty much as is...you have to remember that it is a simple comfort food dish, and not meant to be highly seasoned. We are Polish and eat quite a bit of cabbage, this was a very tasty way to prepare it. My only change was that I used pork boneless western ribs because it was more cost effective and was on sale. I think it added alot of real pork flavor as opposed to plain chops. I did use milk instead of water, not sure that really made any difference and I also added garlic with the onions. Very easy would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The cabbage and potato mixture was fabulous. However, the pork chops were so dry. Next time I will make the cabbage mixture with a pork roast instead of chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBORAHARV614
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this dish. I did change it up a little... I used a large head of cabbage, only 3 potatoes and added a bit of garlic. I baked the uncovered cabbage and potatoes at 400 for 30 minutes before adding the pork chops. I then covered the casserole, lowered the temp to 350 and baked for an hour. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Chicken can also be used. I cut the potatoes in half and then very thin. They held all the flavors and spread in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was pretty good. I seasoned the 1/2 inch thick pork chops w/a little garlic salt/onion powder before browning them. I was concerned about the chops drying out per other reviews so I covered the casserole dish w/foil after 45 min. or so of baking. The cabbage tended to be cooked to the texture of boiled cabbage; I may have perfered a little towards al dente'. Also per reviews I sliced the potatoes fairly thin; wished I had gone thicker. My 9x13 accommodated layers of: cabbage, potatoe, cabbage, potatoe, cabbage then chops, and I forgot to salt the layers until the last layer of cabbage, so I salted it good then. I don't think it mattered that much. The chops were fork tender. Overall, good winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldneyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was pretty good. My 77 year old grandfather, who likes just "plain-Jane" foods (and there is nothing wrong with those types of people OR food, mind you), thought it was really good. For convenience, I cooked it in the crock pot (use a full can of soup plus a full can of water) on high for one hour and then on low for four hours. I also didn't peel the potatoes and just sliced them into big hunks like you would for a roast. It was filling but I had some dijon mustard on the side with mine and it helped it a bit. The "gravy" would've been really good over rice or noodles. All in all, I'll probably make this again since the "Oldman" is a cabbage and pork lover. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I personally loved this meal. My bf didn't say much he said he liked it, and my toddler wouldn't touch it lol (he is at that picky stage) . I'd definately make it again. I used cream of mushroom and i did cover this dish. I'm out of foil so i used a baking pan. So it wasn't a air tight cover. The pork chops i used were on the thin side. So i took the dish out early. I baked it for 1hr 10 mins. the vegs were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was a great tasty dish for a colder night. It makes a lot of food so I would halve the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
loved this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I used the cream of mushroom soup instead of the chicken, cause that is what I had. Overall was tasty. The husband and I liked it tho the kids didn't. I don't think they get taste buds till they are 30 anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States