Pork Chop and Cabbage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I would go with cheddar cheese soup...need to add more spices....paprika, garlic powder, agree with other reviews that could sub pork with chicken....I used pork stew pieces that I browned with onions...I covered the dish....so pork did not dry out...different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina lafreniere

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Although it's very pale on the plate, it tasted great -- very homey and comforting. I sliced the onion and layered it with the potatoes and cabbage, and used garlic powder and seasoned salt. I didn't heat the soup -- I just used a low-fat cream of chicken soup and mixed it with half a can of milk, and poured it over everything, including the pork chops. I covered the whole thing with foil and baked it for 45 minutes, then uncovered it and baked for another 45 minutes. The chops were tender, not dry, the cabbage was tender, but not mushy -- the whole thing was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Easy and tasty. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This iss a great receipe! I like to add about 1/3 cup chicken broth to it and layer it in a crockpot. Cook low & slow all day! Family loves it either way, just depends on how much time I have to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanborn, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My husband loves this and requests it everytime I have pork chops. I may never be able to make them any other way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosenhayn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I think the recipe is fine pretty much as is...you have to remember that it is a simple comfort food dish, and not meant to be highly seasoned. We are Polish and eat quite a bit of cabbage, this was a very tasty way to prepare it. My only change was that I used pork boneless western ribs because it was more cost effective and was on sale. I think it added alot of real pork flavor as opposed to plain chops. I did use milk instead of water, not sure that really made any difference and I also added garlic with the onions. Very easy would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The cabbage and potato mixture was fabulous. However, the pork chops were so dry. Next time I will make the cabbage mixture with a pork roast instead of chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBORAHARV614
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this dish. I did change it up a little... I used a large head of cabbage, only 3 potatoes and added a bit of garlic. I baked the uncovered cabbage and potatoes at 400 for 30 minutes before adding the pork chops. I then covered the casserole, lowered the temp to 350 and baked for an hour. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Chicken can also be used. I cut the potatoes in half and then very thin. They held all the flavors and spread in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was pretty good. I seasoned the 1/2 inch thick pork chops w/a little garlic salt/onion powder before browning them. I was concerned about the chops drying out per other reviews so I covered the casserole dish w/foil after 45 min. or so of baking. The cabbage tended to be cooked to the texture of boiled cabbage; I may have perfered a little towards al dente'. Also per reviews I sliced the potatoes fairly thin; wished I had gone thicker. My 9x13 accommodated layers of: cabbage, potatoe, cabbage, potatoe, cabbage then chops, and I forgot to salt the layers until the last layer of cabbage, so I salted it good then. I don't think it mattered that much. The chops were fork tender. Overall, good winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldneyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States