Pork Chile Rojo (Pulled Pork with Red Chile Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe is now in my keeper file. We added a very small pinch of Cumino at the point of boiling. It adds a definite zip to the recipe. Since we prefer eat this type of meal in soft tortillas we reduced the diced tomatoes by half and drained the juice. If saturated fat is a concern I recommend refrigerating for one night and skimming off the fat....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This was a great flavour. I added a couple of things though, in my opinion, enhanced the flavour even more so. Added 3 cloves garlic and 1 half of a lime( rind and all). Let it all cook together. the lime added such an amazing flavour to the dish, I couldnt imagine it without it. Thanks for the recipe. Definetely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I took the original posters lead and actually made this using verde salsa - one medium and one hot. I also reduced the cans of tomatoes and chili to one but kept the juice. A bit of cumino as it all came to a boil in the final phase. All I can say is, "Wow!!" Even better than what I've had in a local restaurant. Easy cleanup too. Thanks for the hints and the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was pretty good although my family decided that it needed more kick. I added some cayenne and salt at the end of cooking and will use hot salsa next time. I also refuse to cook anything in a plastic bag -- that cannot be healthy. I cooked everything in a crockpot. I would probably make it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Very good! We had it one night with tortillas, eaten like a soup, and the next night served over rice, eaten with tortilla chips and sour cream. Both ways were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
My guests said this dish was delicious. I had eight people for dinner, so made the recipe to serve 8. It would have served 12-16 depending on appetites. I don't have a crock pot, so I used my electric roaster...I put everything in the cooking bag, sat the whole thing into the roaster and surrounded it with water. Cooked at between 225 and 250 degrees. It came out moist, fork tender and delicious. I let guests spoon it up into whole wheat tortillas, and served with a salad. Quick, easy, delicious. Just what we needed on a very busy day of taking guests sightseeing. When we returned home all I needed to do was make the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe is incredible. I love using the slow cooker, because it is so easy and this recipe is no different. I have used this multiple times and it will be a staple in my menu. It is the best for using a shoulder roast. Since there are just two of us, I freeze some of the pork for easy future meals. Thanks for this awesome recipe. I have given it to many family and friends. I highly recommend it!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
UPDATE: Had leftovers today and they were very yummy! I was worried that the meat would dry out, but it didn't. My bf had leftovers (eaten spooned over tortilla chips - with all the fixins) and also enjoyed it (and he HATES leftovers - lol). Very good! I was skeptical at first... my roast, when taken out of the slow cooker, had a lot of fat on it (which grosses me out!). After I shredded the meat, it was perfect! I followed the directions to a T, except for halving the recipe for my bf and I (I have lots of leftovers for tomorrow and the weekend, even after me having two servings and my bf having 4!!!). Served with soft corn tortillas, shredded lettuce and cheddar cheese, chopped tomatoes, fresh lime and sour cream. Next time, I'll prepare with green salsa or either top each helping with some. This goes particularly well with Spanish rice. Thanks for sharing such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
So simple and very good. Unlike some Mexican dishes I've made in the slow cooker, the flavor of this one lived up to the smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Sooooo GOOOOOOD! Fantastic! Has good flavor and spice! I just threw everything in the crock pot together...didn't mess with the bag and the water or the dutch oven. I used one big 24 oz jar of salsa so it wasn't the full amount but it still turned out great...and probably better bc the recipe doesn't need anymore liquid. I added some garlic salt and fajita seasoning towards the end. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States