Pork Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I've made this for years. My recipe only uses 1 tablespoon of salt, I think 2 tablespoons would be terribly salty. I put the dried UNsoaked beans in the crockpot with one more cup of water than this recipe calls for and let them cook overnight. The next morning, I put everything else in and let it cook all day. I also cut the roast into several pieces so that it will cook more evenly. When the meat is fall apart tender, I take it out and pull it apart with two forks. I then take out the beans and put them in the food processor and puree them. I then thicken the wonderful broth and it makes the BEST red "gravy". I put the bean puree, some shredded pork, some cheese and a dribble of the gravy inside of a flour tortilla. Total heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen's Recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Oh man, this was fabulous!! Made 1/2 batch because it's only me. Was so very easy and made the best taco salad I've ever had!! It would also be great in a flour tortilla, on a tostada shell, as a taco filling, etc. So very glad I tried it!! Thanks bunches for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I have made this over and over again because it's one of my families' favorites. I cook fresh pinto beans in my crock pot and roast the pork in the oven. Once the roast is done and cooled I added it to the beans, along with fresh chopped green chili grown here in NM, and the other ingredients. Serves up nicely rolled in flour tortillas with shredded cheese and garnished with chopped tomato, shredded lettuce, salsa, sour cream and guacamole! It's a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Followed recipe as directed except I did soak beans overnight & didn't add salt until ready to serve as suggested in other reviews....beans were still hard after 12 hours of cooking but was really delish! Served with rice,tortillas & toppings...makes a lot I served 8 people & still had some leftovers for lunch the next day...will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Ridiculous how good this is! I love the suggestion from another reviewer about the Fritos! I put them INSIDE my tortilla! I know, right???? BRILLIANT! 5 Stars, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
It tasted good. I cut the salt in half and used jalapeños, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I don't think I'll make it again, because I never have a use for that much food, but if I do I will soak the beans overnight and add the salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I have been making this for a couple years now. My husband and daughter always love the burritos I make with this pork. It does make a lot, so I always freeze the leftovers and later toss them in the crockpot to make chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Absolutely loved the flavor of the meat and beans!! Yes it makes a lot. Served over corn chips, tortilla chips, rice, in tortillas, endless options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I have been using this recipe for over two years now and have never posted BUT this is too good to keep a secret. It is a great recipe and very easy to make and nothing needs to be changed. It is our favorite Super Bowl day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Any recipe that my picky kids like is a five star for me. It was super easy to make. The meat was tender. It made enough for two meals. I think I will freeze some and make enchiladas out of the remainder of the meat next week. I followed the recipe exactly except I had a three pound pork shoulder. I might have covered it with too much water because I had to drain the meat off after I shredded it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States