Pork Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This recipe is perfect exactly as posted. The only problem is that I've made it so many times that I'm getting sick of it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This was so easy and made a TON of food! I ended up cooking it on low for 10 hours and the beans were not total mush, but a good texture. I like salty food, so it was not too salty for me. I did have to scoop out a lot of extra water, but that was not a problem. I served mine in tortillas with cheese, sour cream and mango salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I've made this for years. My recipe only uses 1 tablespoon of salt, I think 2 tablespoons would be terribly salty. I put the dried UNsoaked beans in the crockpot with one more cup of water than this recipe calls for and let them cook overnight. The next morning, I put everything else in and let it cook all day. I also cut the roast into several pieces so that it will cook more evenly. When the meat is fall apart tender, I take it out and pull it apart with two forks. I then take out the beans and put them in the food processor and puree them. I then thicken the wonderful broth and it makes the BEST red "gravy". I put the bean puree, some shredded pork, some cheese and a dribble of the gravy inside of a flour tortilla. Total heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen's Recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Oh man, this was fabulous!! Made 1/2 batch because it's only me. Was so very easy and made the best taco salad I've ever had!! It would also be great in a flour tortilla, on a tostada shell, as a taco filling, etc. So very glad I tried it!! Thanks bunches for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I have made this over and over again because it's one of my families' favorites. I cook fresh pinto beans in my crock pot and roast the pork in the oven. Once the roast is done and cooled I added it to the beans, along with fresh chopped green chili grown here in NM, and the other ingredients. Serves up nicely rolled in flour tortillas with shredded cheese and garnished with chopped tomato, shredded lettuce, salsa, sour cream and guacamole! It's a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Followed recipe as directed except I did soak beans overnight & didn't add salt until ready to serve as suggested in other reviews....beans were still hard after 12 hours of cooking but was really delish! Served with rice,tortillas & toppings...makes a lot I served 8 people & still had some leftovers for lunch the next day...will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Ridiculous how good this is! I love the suggestion from another reviewer about the Fritos! I put them INSIDE my tortilla! I know, right???? BRILLIANT! 5 Stars, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
It tasted good. I cut the salt in half and used jalapeños, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I don't think I'll make it again, because I never have a use for that much food, but if I do I will soak the beans overnight and add the salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I have been making this for a couple years now. My husband and daughter always love the burritos I make with this pork. It does make a lot, so I always freeze the leftovers and later toss them in the crockpot to make chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Absolutely loved the flavor of the meat and beans!! Yes it makes a lot. Served over corn chips, tortilla chips, rice, in tortillas, endless options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States