Pork Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Easy and amazing If you like pork carnitas this is the one for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These were great. My daughter's little friend who was staying with us this weekend ate so many I thought she was in competition with my husband. This was a great recipe. The only thing I did differently was to use less chicken broth since my dutch oven wouldn't hold it all, and it certainly didn't hurt a thing. My husband told me he could eat them everyday. I served them with fresh homemade tortillas and pico de gallo. Interesting aside: I sent my hubby to the store to buy the meat. He came back with a 4 pound boston butt and said, "They didn't have a shoulder, but this was just the right size." I laughed and said, "Well, you did good, dear. A butt is a cut from the shoulder."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Tried this for the Super Bowl and it was fantastic. I used a bit more of the seasoning for the braising liquid. When putting it in the oven, I made sure there was plenty of the juice so it would dry out. Having some now (the next day) and it's still nice and moist. This was definitely a hit! I'll work it into my normal rotation, the kids love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe was fantastic! Just the right amount of spices and seasoning and I made sure I drizzled more of the cooking liquid on the meat towards the end and it came out perfect. To be honest, this recipe turned out restaurant caliber carnitas. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I'm very happy with how our carnitas turned out! I used a tenderloin and substituted a dark beer for the chicken broth. Very tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Crane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This recipe is perfect! I followed it exactly with one exception - I added about 1/2 cup of coca cola to the liquid while the meat was simmmering and it turned out great. My husband is Mexican and every time we are in Mexico, my favorite food is the pork carnitas from the little trucks. I have been trying to make something that comes close and this recipe is it. Thank you for sharing this. I will be making this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHONEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
excellent, very authentic. first try came out a little salty. I love carnitas with fresh cilantro and diced onion....just like the taco stands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I've used this recipe several times and it's fantastic! Today I set it in the slow cooker in the morning and came home from work to a beautiful, fall off the bone meal. I used pork hocks - great price and absolutely fine in the slow cooker. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
So moist and with great flavor. I never measure just cook by smell, but I upped the garlic, and used the juice of a whole lime. Went a little heavy on the chili powder and cumin, and only salted the meat before browning. Also threw in just a touch of cayenne for good measure. Came out awesome! I used a pork loin, so I just left the meat in the dutch oven and let it work, after about 2 hours it fell apart with just tongs and stirring. Put them in a flour tortilla with tomato, avocado, and a touch of sour creme. Served with beans and elotes made an awesome Mexican night in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Nice seasoning mix, but just sautéed shortly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States