Pork Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nette
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Hi all, I just figured out today that this had been published. A few things: Keep in mind, the objective of the final step is to get slightly crispy outside with a moist, tender inside. Convection oven is great for this. The recipe says a "clove" of garlic ... I meant a bulb, but of course, garlic to taste, and for that matter, salt. Also remember to adjust your salt and spices to the size of the roast, but broth doesn't need the same levels of increases. I wrote this such a long time ago -- I don't use cans of broth anymore, just the sealed boxes -- about 1 will do for most roasts. Also, this is the Winter version with a dutch oven. I have a summer version where I marinate the pork pieces in lime, garlic, olive oil, adobo chili sauce, cilantro, and onion. I then grill outdoors to get the browned edges, and then set up a disposable aluminum pan covered with foil to do the braising in broth. I keep it on the grill on very low heat until tender. Then move the pieces indoors to finish with the same steps as the winter version. This way, it keeps the house a bit cooler. Some great ideas in your comments including crock pot use, and cola or beer for braising liquid. You know, you can also use this method for pulled pork... just decrease the cumin and chili, and add BBQ sauce to your braising liquid. Either way, for the carnitas, I've since started adding mild green chili to the braising broth. It's ok to be creative with this -- modify to your liking. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
i havent tried the recipe but if anyone out there wants to make a variation to this recipe, i recently saw a Mexican friend making carnitas (a whole pig) and what he put in for seasoning was coca cola, limes and lemons, laurel leaves, and cooking wine. dont forget the salt and use its own drippings to keep it from being dried out, remember, carnitas werent meant to be diet food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I'm very happy with how our carnitas turned out! I used a tenderloin and substituted a dark beer for the chicken broth. Very tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Crane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
So moist and with great flavor. I never measure just cook by smell, but I upped the garlic, and used the juice of a whole lime. Went a little heavy on the chili powder and cumin, and only salted the meat before browning. Also threw in just a touch of cayenne for good measure. Came out awesome! I used a pork loin, so I just left the meat in the dutch oven and let it work, after about 2 hours it fell apart with just tongs and stirring. Put them in a flour tortilla with tomato, avocado, and a touch of sour creme. Served with beans and elotes made an awesome Mexican night in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This recipe is perfect! I followed it exactly with one exception - I added about 1/2 cup of coca cola to the liquid while the meat was simmmering and it turned out great. My husband is Mexican and every time we are in Mexico, my favorite food is the pork carnitas from the little trucks. I have been trying to make something that comes close and this recipe is it. Thank you for sharing this. I will be making this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHONEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this recipe tonight, and WOW!! Complete out of the ballpark hit with my family. I doubled the recipe for my large family. I used pork sirloin, as that is what Costco had in the 8LB quantity. Salt and Garlic salt, then into the pot with oil to sear in batches. I pulled all the meat out, and sweated the onions and garlic in the pan juices before adding broth, spices, and meat back to the pot. Up to high uncovered, then covered on low for 2.5 hours. I then upped the heat to high and uncovered the pot to reduce the liquid by half. The meat was falling apart as I put it in the baking pan to crisp up, I added the reduced liquid to the meat a half cup at a time over the next 30 minutes. SOOOOOO Good. Served this with onions and cilantro, home made guac, and home made pico de gallo on the side. One side note, I doubled the recipe, so should have used 8 can's broth...NO way that would have worked. I ended up using 5 cans for 8lbs of meat, and it was plenty. I also read the reviews and used the extra garlic. Awesome Recipe!! (Long time member here, this was my first review!) Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I loved the cooking method for these carnitas!! Seriously best I've ever made or bought eating out. I do admit I did a few things differently. I upped the spices, did a dry rub on the pork and then fried it till crispy and brown before adding homemade broth. I added an orange, juice and rind and more garlic then followed the rest of the instructions exactly. AMAZING. Like I said I only played with the spicing. This is a great way to prepare carnitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Tried this for the Super Bowl and it was fantastic. I used a bit more of the seasoning for the braising liquid. When putting it in the oven, I made sure there was plenty of the juice so it would dry out. Having some now (the next day) and it's still nice and moist. This was definitely a hit! I'll work it into my normal rotation, the kids love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe was fantastic! Just the right amount of spices and seasoning and I made sure I drizzled more of the cooking liquid on the meat towards the end and it came out perfect. To be honest, this recipe turned out restaurant caliber carnitas. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Texture was perfect, but meat was waaaaay too salty. Salt overpowered the cumin and chili powder. 1 Tablespoon would have been plenty. Easy fix for an otherwise good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States