Pork Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The recipe was GREAT. A bit to salty & chili was a bit overpowering. Also, as a bit of a change, I used a pressure cooker for 20 minutes instead of simmering for 2-1/2 hours - turned it into a pretty quick meal. I also cut down on the broth since it doesn't boil off in a pressure cooker. I only used 32 oz of broth and still ended up with a lot of liquid, which I thickened & used as a sauce. Outstanding! I will be using this recipe as a baseline in the future. Nette is right on that the final step in crisping it up is critical. A watchful eye under a broiler worked well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a very nice and easy recipe for Carnitas. I cut the chicken broth to one can. Wonder if it is a typo as the cooking broth was sooo yummy. I was surprised at how flavorful as I kept with the seasonings pretty close. I think the only other change I made to the Carnitas was the garlic. I like to use my three finger scoop method from a jar of minced garlic to many of my meat dishes that call for grlic.. Next time I'm going to add a bit of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was very good though I did cut back on the salt. I also added a jalapeno and Cilantro since I had some growing in the garden. Once it was done and shredded it I skimmed some of the fat off the reserved liquid and put it in a fry pan and tossed the meat into it to get crispy. Oh my that was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this over the weekend for a Mexican/Spanish inspired potluck that we hosted. Because of time and the ridiculous humidity that we were having, I decided to make this in the crock pot. I browned the meat before putting it in the crock, used all of the ingredients exactly as stated, and cooked it on high for 10 hours. We had a 4.3lb pork shoulder and 10 hours was the perfect amount of time. I opted not to put the finished carnitas in the oven to "crisp up" as the original instructions directed, although when I have more time I will definitely add this step! The result was a delicately flavored, moist, fall-aparty (like my word? lol), porky treat. We served them with the traditional carnitas fixin's of cilantro, tomatoes, red onions, and lime; but we also added salsa, guac, fried onions, various cheeses, and sour cream to the table, for the non-traditional. We served small flour tortillas and cilantro lime rice with this, which were equally great as a vessel for the pork. Everyone seemed to really enjoy it and there were hardly any leftovers. My only suggestion would be to add a little more chili powder or some thing similar to up the spice level (if you're into spicy these really were not spicy at all, but that could have been due to cooking in the crock pot as well). Next time I'm going to follow the exact cooking method which I'm sure will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I made this and it was spectacular. I eyed the amounts and also by taste. I was skeptical about it crisping in the oven but it did!! I had wonderful carnitas, moist on the inside and crispy outside. I made some pico de gallo and warmed up some corn tortillas, it was perfect. The seasoning is perfect I didn't change or add anything. Huge hit for my family and even my 3 yr old granddaughter loved them. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Delicious. I use slightly less salt and don't salt the meat again before browning in the oven, but otherwise I don't alter the recipe. I also try to pare off as much fat as possible before cooking, since this has the potential to be VERY greasy (there's still plenty of fat after removing most of it). Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
It was my first time making carnitas! All I have to say is! That they came out better then some I have ate at the restaurant. They were super moist and tender. I added some bay leave which it didn't called for it,but I like the flavor better with it. I will make it again... My family was impressed with this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armida

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I just made this, and it is awesomely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as far as ingredients. I did however cook it in the crockpot overnight instead of on the stove. Turned it off in the morning and after an hour or two, I shredded the meat and finished it off on a baking sheet in the oven. I ended up using only one quart (4 cups) of broth in the crockpot. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I love this recipe!!! Don't judge me, I had to do some modifications (my hubby can't have certain foods because he has severe indigestion). I omitted the onion and chili powder. Because of this I doubled up on the garlic and lime. Everything else I followed to the letter. My husband and my kids asked for seconds! I made mine a little spicy by adding a little adobo sauce onto the tortilla. I love the fact that I can brown and boil and come back to it later. I browned it, added the rest of the ingredients, then went back to work. Set a timer and my nanny turned the stove off when the timer went off! Got home from work hours later, shredded and browned the meat again in just about 45 minutes. SOOO easy, sooo tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States