Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
My husband is from Guatemala and truly loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I loved this recipe! I used boneless country spareribs and cooked them in my pressure cooker. I also made flour tortillas (family isn't crazy about corn tortillas). This will be in the weeknight rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p and q

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. The only substitution I made was to use pork steak as that is all that I had on hand and it turned out just as it should. It was very nice to see a recipe that didn't involve cream of whatever, for once, as those are becoming increasingly rampant on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ItalianSpice
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I made this while on vacation for my family and we all LOVED it!! The tomatillo salsa was a HIT. None of us had ever really tried tomatillos,much less made use of them at home. The carnitas were so juicy and flavorful! We added some homemade guacamole but really would not have missed it because the salsa was so delightful! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I used pork loin chops sliced thin like fajita strips. This cut down cooking time quite a bit. I didn't have tomatillos, so we used all tomatoes with a specialty taco sauce I had on hand. We also used whole wheat flour tortillas because that is what we had. We loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
While this was time consuming, it was well worth it. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
We really enjoyed these but I did add more seasoning and used a hotter chili powder. We liked how the flavor a melded together and the salsa have it a bright addition to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Made this with a pork tenderloin in the slow cooker and it was delicious! There was a nice amount of heat, but the cilantro tomatillo sauce offset that a bit. I made it with the corn tortillas, but we thought it would have been better with flour tortillas instead. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is a great recipe. I didn't use pork because we very rarely eat anything pork in our home unless it's bacon. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs. Since I had the corn oil that Mazola sent, I did use their oil. However, I used about a teaspoon of Adobo along with the spices and added some cumin. Squeezed some lime juice in the salsa and ate some sliced avocado - Oh, and I did use flour tortillas (homemade ones!) instead of corn since we are not fans of corn tortillas here (unless they are fried!). I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
My family really enjoyed this new take on taco night! I chose not to cube the pork and placed it in my slow cooker on top of the sliced onions. I rubbed the pork with the oil and seasonings, and set it on low for 7 hours. We just shredded our 2.5 pound pork shoulder, topped with the tomatillo sauce, and piled it in a corn tortilla. It was a quick dinner on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States