Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jmacsaunders
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I followed the spices in recipe exactly however I would cut off some of the fat from the shoulder after I cubed it. A lot of fat rendered from it. When it was done I did stir in some more peppers and onions. We want more veggies in our life. Be sure to heat up the corn tortillas in the microwave. It really makes a difference. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
We thought this resulted in a wonderful dinner. I made it just as directed, though it didn't say how to prepare the tortillas (I just heated them in a touch of oil). I did add a little sour cream. I started out with two pounds of pork shoulder butt, and by the time I cut off some of the fat and let it cook down, it was perfect for four servings. Thanks, Mazola, for a different way of preparing carnitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My family loved the tender pork. I live at high altitude and the meat did take longer to cook then stated in the directions. I used 2 pounds of pork shoulder and removed the fat. I found some chipolte powder online and use it in a lot of Mexican dishes. My family loves carnitas with flour tortillas, so I prepared my own flour tortillas recipe and it was great. The tomatillo sauce was very mild, so my husband added onion, jalapeno peppers, garlic salt, and lime juice to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
We really liked this. Pork Tenderloin was on sale, so I took advantage of that and it was delicious and tender in this recipe! I reduced the chili powder to 1 teaspoon and that was plenty for us. I did not use the chipotle as I'm not a fan. I used a tablespoon of fresh garlic also. The tomatillo salsa is amazing. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of freshly minced garlic to it and served this on flour tortillas instead of the corn. Be sure to get a good sear on the pork it really adds to the flavor! Next time I make this I will double everything. There wasn't enough!! I think this would great over rice too. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TFR1959
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great Weeknight meal. I added sour cream to the salsa mix and it made it creamy and good! My family prefers flour tortillas, so that's what I used. I#AllstarsMazola®
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe was EASY and the most delicious pork carnitas I've ever tasted! I started by browning the pork on the stove, as recommended, but then instead of simmering on the stove we popped it in the crock pot for 4 hours on high. I didn't have Chipotle chili powder, so I just used a little extra regular chili powder. I also couldn't find pork shoulder so we used pork tenderloin instead (it was on sale!). I used our small food processor to make the tomatillo sauce and it worked really well. We will definitely make this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I don't eat pork so I made this recipe using medium tofu and cooked in with oil like the pork, only for about 10 minutes instead of 30-45 minutes the meat requires. I followed the recipe exactly as written otherwise and the spices were spot on and flavored the tofu beautifully. This was very easy to throw together and was even light enough to make for a quick lunch. This is also a very budget friendly recipe! I rarely make Mexican style dishes since I live in the heart of San Diego but this is a recipe I will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for New Years Eve dinner it was a BIG hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lowie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mineo, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Loved these! The guy's weren't big on the fresh tomatillo salsa, but I thought it was great with these. I also served them with chopped red onion, shredded cheddar and sour cream. The meat, which took longer for all of the liquid to cook off than was stated (which was fine), was moist, tender and very flavorful w/ a nice, spicy kick. We all agreed that these are a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This get a 5 star mostly because my kids loved it! My husband and I really liked it too, but it needs more spice for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States