Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe was EASY and the most delicious pork carnitas I've ever tasted! I started by browning the pork on the stove, as recommended, but then instead of simmering on the stove we popped it in the crock pot for 4 hours on high. I didn't have Chipotle chili powder, so I just used a little extra regular chili powder. I also couldn't find pork shoulder so we used pork tenderloin instead (it was on sale!). I used our small food processor to make the tomatillo sauce and it worked really well. We will definitely make this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for New Years Eve dinner it was a BIG hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lowie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mineo, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My family loved the tender pork. I live at high altitude and the meat did take longer to cook then stated in the directions. I used 2 pounds of pork shoulder and removed the fat. I found some chipolte powder online and use it in a lot of Mexican dishes. My family loves carnitas with flour tortillas, so I prepared my own flour tortillas recipe and it was great. The tomatillo sauce was very mild, so my husband added onion, jalapeno peppers, garlic salt, and lime juice to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Due to all the reviews I'd seen so far, I halved this recipe. One half was made exactly as written - I'd give it a 3. It was delicious but not enough flavor for our family (referring to both the salsa and the meat.) The other half I tweaked to our liking. I'd rate that a 5 as there were no complaints, however, my rating here will reflect 'as is' :) After browning the meat as written, my changes were: we added more of each seasoning it called for (to taste) and finished the meat in our slow cooker. Instead of covering it in water, I used Herdez Pasilla sauce for extra flavor. We topped it with tomatoes, green onions, tomatillos, shredded cheddar cheese and a small squeeze of ranch dressing for the kids. So tender and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Delicious! The pork comes out moist, tender, and full of flavor - plus it was easy to make. I used pork tenderloin (on sale) and combined all the spices in a ziploc bag then tossed in the pork so it was evenly coated. After browning, I cooked it in the crock pot for 4 hours on high with a minimal amount of water. The last hour I tossed in the onion. The tomatillo salsa needed just a little more flavor so like others I added in some garlic, red onion, a pinch of salt and a little fresh lime juice. I served these over white corn tortillas that I warmed in the oven topped with salsa, avacado slices, sour cream and a splash of fresh lime. Great with a side of Spanish rice and a margarita on the rocks! Thanks for a great recipe Mazola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
SCRUMPTIOUS!!! I have to admit I was a little skeptical of this recipe, because this isn't really a traditional "carnitas" recipe where the meat is roasted/braised and then shredded. Nobody messes with my carnitas! But I thought i'd give this a chance and am I ever glad I did! This is a lot quicker than making traditional carnitas and the meat is packed with flavor. Whatever you do, PLEASE make sure you buy pork shoulder (or Country Style Ribs cut from pork shoulder). This is a well-marbled cut of meat and the fat renders down and gives the meat such a tender, buttery flavor that can't be matched by leaner cuts. Very few ingredients are needed in this recipe. I made it exactly as is and can see myself making it over and over. I almost ate the whole thing to myself! You don't need anything else but the meat and the tomatillo salsa (it's not really a sauce!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Five stars for the taste and ease of the carnitas, done in the slow cooker for 5 hours on low. I did, however, heed the warnings of the earlier reviews regarding the salsa. I roasted the tomitillos, added fresh garlic and kosher salt. The taste was fine, just didn't make enough as written. I suggest doubling the amounts for the salsa. Thank you Mazola, for the opportunity to work with corn oil and your recipe for carnitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a little too hot for my tastes. However, it was quite easy to make and the overall flavor was pretty descent. I followed the meat recipe except I used pork tenderloin. That is what my grocery store had. I think cutting up the pork, was the most time consuming part. I thought I had the chipotle powder or something similar. When I realized that was not the case, I used 1 Tblsp. of minced chipotle peppers in adobe sauce. So, that may have contributed to the heat, not sure. I wanted so badly to tweak the topping by adding avocado, and avocado sauce, or some type of white spicy sauce, to give a creamy like topping to the tacos they needed In my opinion. I did like the flavor of the base salsa though. I don't typically make salsas or sauces with tomatillos. I suggest playing with the toppings, though, as almost anything can be added and would go nicely with the pork and tomatillo salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I don't eat pork so I made this recipe using medium tofu and cooked in with oil like the pork, only for about 10 minutes instead of 30-45 minutes the meat requires. I followed the recipe exactly as written otherwise and the spices were spot on and flavored the tofu beautifully. This was very easy to throw together and was even light enough to make for a quick lunch. This is also a very budget friendly recipe! I rarely make Mexican style dishes since I live in the heart of San Diego but this is a recipe I will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was a great place to start. The sauce for the carnitas was complex and rich, with a deep chili flavor and a subtle heat. I liked the cilantro tomatillo salsa, but I added a clove of minced fresh garlic and some sea salt. I garnished my carnitas with sour cream and yummy avocado slices, but I wanted a bit of heat in the salsa. I think it would benefit from the addition of some minced fresh jalapeno, to taste. It has a fresh, tangy taste, but the combination could definitely use some heat in the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States