Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Very good. I did not sear the roast. I just put everything except the mushrooms in the crock pot with chicken broth instead of water. I cooked it for 8 hours overnight, put it in the fridge, skimmed off the fat, added the mushrooms and then reheated again before dinner time. Sometimes I don't like the texture of meat cooked in the crock pot, but I liked this. My husband really liked the result. I added a squirt or 2 of sriracha sauce to mine for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Photo by aneta96
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
First time making this and I loved it! So easy to make and the meat was so tender. I added parsley and dill to the potatoes. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aneta96

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Justice, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong. This was chewy, tough, just bad. Had to make some gravy to make it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I followed the recipe. Did not say what size pan. Think mine was too big. Way too much water. Not a whole lot of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was a great meal. We liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
My smoker gave out on July 3rd. I had a spareribs meal and Boston Butt meal planned for the weekend with out of town guests. Turned my Weber Grill into a smoker for the ribs and they turned out great. Boston Butt is a different problem because Butt must be cooked low and slow. The Butt had already been prepped with mustard and Mike Miles rub for 36 hours. I put carrots and celery in the bottom of my French Oven with 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth, topped with onion slices. I scored the fat cap and inserted garlic slivers into the cuts. Baked fat side up @ 200 degrees for 8 plus hours and temp reached close to the 200 degree mark I was looking for. I removed from the oven, wrapped tight with tin foil and put into an ice chest and covered the roast with bath towels for 2 to 2 1/2 more hours. Wow, what a great piece of pork!!! The time in the ice chest is essential because this is where the breakdown of this cheap cut of meat really gets tender. If you plan ahead, this is really an easy recipe. My family and friends thought I was a miracle worker this weekend. I didn't have the heart to tell them I just got lucky and a little research on the internet. My roast was 5 1/2 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Loved this recipe!! I seared and also put in an oven bag! The aroma is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnsie Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made this successfully for Easter dinner. Used a pork loin instead of roast and beef stock with water instead of just water. Covered and cooked for three hours; then added carrots and potatoes and cooked uncovered for additional hour. Everything came out tender and delicious. Looking forward to leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
OMG GOOD!I got the pork butt on sale and to be honest I didn't know what to do with it! I'm not the best cook!! Thank goodness for this site and this recipe. My Hubby raved! Did everything but used beef broth instead of water. SO EASY AND SO GOOD! Now I will look for the pork butt when shopping. Thanks great dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I never even checked these comments until after I put in the roast and I did not sear the roast instead I covered the bottom of the roast pan with 4 cups of water and sliced up two onions, and 6 carrots, 7 stalks of celery and rubbed the roast with Montreal Steak spice, and sprinkled the last onion on the roast and used convection at 375 degrees Fahrenheit and set timer for 2.5 Hours. i hope it comes out good ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Cardinal
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States