Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I followed the recipe. Did not say what size pan. Think mine was too big. Way too much water. Not a whole lot of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was a great meal. We liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
My smoker gave out on July 3rd. I had a spareribs meal and Boston Butt meal planned for the weekend with out of town guests. Turned my Weber Grill into a smoker for the ribs and they turned out great. Boston Butt is a different problem because Butt must be cooked low and slow. The Butt had already been prepped with mustard and Mike Miles rub for 36 hours. I put carrots and celery in the bottom of my French Oven with 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth, topped with onion slices. I scored the fat cap and inserted garlic slivers into the cuts. Baked fat side up @ 200 degrees for 8 plus hours and temp reached close to the 200 degree mark I was looking for. I removed from the oven, wrapped tight with tin foil and put into an ice chest and covered the roast with bath towels for 2 to 2 1/2 more hours. Wow, what a great piece of pork!!! The time in the ice chest is essential because this is where the breakdown of this cheap cut of meat really gets tender. If you plan ahead, this is really an easy recipe. My family and friends thought I was a miracle worker this weekend. I didn't have the heart to tell them I just got lucky and a little research on the internet. My roast was 5 1/2 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Loved this recipe!! I seared and also put in an oven bag! The aroma is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnsie Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made this successfully for Easter dinner. Used a pork loin instead of roast and beef stock with water instead of just water. Covered and cooked for three hours; then added carrots and potatoes and cooked uncovered for additional hour. Everything came out tender and delicious. Looking forward to leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
OMG GOOD!I got the pork butt on sale and to be honest I didn't know what to do with it! I'm not the best cook!! Thank goodness for this site and this recipe. My Hubby raved! Did everything but used beef broth instead of water. SO EASY AND SO GOOD! Now I will look for the pork butt when shopping. Thanks great dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I never even checked these comments until after I put in the roast and I did not sear the roast instead I covered the bottom of the roast pan with 4 cups of water and sliced up two onions, and 6 carrots, 7 stalks of celery and rubbed the roast with Montreal Steak spice, and sprinkled the last onion on the roast and used convection at 375 degrees Fahrenheit and set timer for 2.5 Hours. i hope it comes out good ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Cardinal
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious and easy meal that will be added to my Sunday dinner rotation. My roast was small - 2 1/2 lbs - so my cooking time was cut down to a total of 2 hrs. It was just the two of us, but it would have easily fed 4-5 people. I did not change much because the base recipe is pretty good on its own. I cooked the roast in a dutch oven and used 1 quart chicken broth instead of water with a couple bay leaves added for flavor. I added a small bag of baby dutch potatoes after 90 minutes and the final result was two very satisfied people. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
DELICIOUS. Didn't change a thing. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Cooked this for the first time ever....my 8 year said it was delish! That's a BIG plus for me. Will be making this again! Added my own seasoning, sceared the meat first(never done that before) and let it roast all night at 190 degrees in the oven....LOVELY, the meat just fell apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Laurinburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States