Pork Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Used this for a pork loin and it turned out fantastic! Used 1/2 cup sea salt and 1/2 cup kosher salt (just because this was all I had, I don't use table salt to brine meat). Added a bit of liquid smoke and about an extra quart of water to cover the pork loin in my brining bucket. 3 lb loin, brined for about 6 hours (it turned a funny whitish color), roasted uncovered at 350 for an hour to juicy, fork-tender results! No problem with excessive saltiness that some reviewers complained of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was okay, a little too vinegary to me, and I like the taste of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
ABSOLUTELY the WORST brine I have ever used!!!! It was so salty that it ruined 2 pounds of extra thick hand cut pork chops!!! It was completely inedible and I was mortified because I had my in-laws over for dinner! BEWARE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I tried this recipe and was very disappointed with the results.The pork chops were very salty and we did not find the brine improved the quality ( tenderness and juiciness)of the pork chops .My husband will not eat pork( unless it is some type of shoulder roast.)I'm trying to find a recipe that he will really enjoy and I can prepare more often. When trying a new recipe I always follow the recipe but this just didn't produce a a tender and juicy chop.I will continue to try other pork recipes on this site and maybe come across a keeper. Ritz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
My 4 yr old, who usually has to be tricked into eating meat, asked for seconds! A couple of slight changes: I didn't have any mustard powder on hand so I added a dash of cumin, and I'm cooking for a diabetic so I substituted brown sugar Splenda blend for the sugar. Stuck it in the slow cooker for about 90 minutes and it was practically falling apart it was so tender, and the taste was a great blend of salty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
The best pork brine I have ever tried. Will use this from now on. Gave a lovely taste to our pork loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is awful! It was so salty I couldn't take but 1 bite. I had to rinse it after it was cooked but it didn't help. My Boyfriend is a chef and he always makes fabulous meals. I felt bad that this was the first meal I could not eat and enjoy in the 2 years we have been together. I definitely do not recommend this at all! Disgusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I'm giving this 4 stars because even though I modified it based on what others wrote, it is a good brine mixture. For 4 thick chops, I used 1 c cider vinegar, 1/4 c salt, 2/3 c brown sugar, 2 t. black pepper, 2 t mustard powder and 2 c ice water. I think the mistake many people made was they either left it in brine too long or did not rinse well enough. You MUST rinse brined meat very thoroughly to wash off the salt. I let the rinsed chops rest in a bowl of ice water for about 5 moinutes, themn pat dry and cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
It was awful! My pork tasted like pure salt. You couldn't taste anything else. I think it should say 1 Tablespoon, not cup. I wasted 2 lbs of pork and had to quickly come up with something else to serve for dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
We tried this on thick cut pork chops and it was amazing. Don't cut the salt down like others are saying. Just make sure you follow the instructions exactly as stated. After 2 hours, pull the pork chops and rinse thoroughly under cold water. After that, place the chops in a bowl of ice water for about 5 minutes. Pat dry and cook. I used olive oil and fresh ground pepper and they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States