Pork Barbeque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I followed this to the letter but when tasting the sauce, decided to add 1/4 cup brown sugar to it...it just seemed to round out the flavor. The flavor is just as good as the smells that waft through the kitchen while it cooks. It was a winner at our house and I will be trying this on beef and chicken too! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDCWOLF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This pork barbeque recipe was wonderful! Tad bit on the spicy side for me but the meat had a lot of flavor. I kept the liquid though and just scooped out individual servings and added additonal barbeque sauce to my liking. This way the sauce didn't overpower any of the good pork flavor. It was suggested to me also that spooning the pork with some of the liquid over a bed of rice would be a nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
After living in Harrisburg for 20 years, I can see why the restruant that served this is closed. There have to be a dozen places in central PA that serve a tastier barbecue pork. I wouldn't waste the time to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Well, this is NOT the best barbeque I've had..Pork was tasty and tender, but the sauce was just not a favorite with me. I appreciate the post, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
This was OK, but definately not the best I've ever had. It was pretty hot...too hot. I ended up adding more BBQ sauce and brown sugar to smooth out the flavor. If I make it again, I'll reduce the hot sauce and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTHRESHER

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This is a very good recipe. Always looking for something different to do with pork. I did the serving size for 4 and my husband loved it so much that there was none left over. I added about 2 tablespoons of garlic and 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke. Instead of hot pepper sauce I added hot crushed peppers. It gave it alittle kick. My husband said that it didn't have enough BBQ sauce so he added alittle more to his plate. It is easy and quick to put together and you can cut everything up ahead of time. I didn't make it and have it the next day. I don't know how much better it could have got. It was excellent. Never cooked with liquid smoke before and it gives it that smokey favor and printed this out and going to make again. Thanks A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGMAY80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Salvaged it by dumping a bottle of bbq sauce in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Everyone loves this - they ask for the recipe every time I make it. Works just as well with either pork, chicken or beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I find this recipe very moist and flavorful served as is, on a bun. Others like or with a squirt of BBQ sauce over the top. For people who like their BBQ swimming in sauce, this may not be the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Definitely NOT the 'best pork barbeque recipe available.' It tasted like bell peppers and ground pepper, and as I was eating it I was thinking it wasn't cooked on the BBQ and doesn't taste anything like BBQ. I had to smother it in homemade BBQ sauce to eat it. The pork did have a nice little kick to it though. I'm really sorry, but this just didn't tickle my fancy. This would be a great pulled pork recipe for folks who don't like BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States