Pork Balls and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Our family loved this! We did nothing different from the recipe. FYI... be ready to take it off after cooking for 1 hr. You probably won't need that extra 30 minutes, otherwise your pork will be tough. Keep in mind that ground pork is VERY LEAN. Therefore, it cooks up firm. If you want fattier meatballs that are softer when finished, you can mix in some beef, which would be yummy, too. Or you could use pork sausage, which has lots of fat to make it chewier. We loved ours with the plain ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Love this recipe! I added 3/4 cup of water and simmered and used parboiled rice (not instant) it simmered up beautifully! Next time will sprinkle on caraway seed (my austrian husband makes his sauerkraut like that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I found this recipe in a daily email/newsletter I get. Instead of ground pork I use a 1 lb roll of pan sauage. I also use the boiling bag/instant type rice and instead of regular sauerkraut I use the barvarian sauerkraut, it is sweeter and not as acidic as the regular. Also, since I do not use the whole amount of meat I have to add some bread crumbs or crackers to the meat ball mixture as it is too wet otherwise and I use no seasoning. I love this recipe. I serve it with mashed potatoes. It's a great change from the tomato and beef meat ball recipes. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
I served this recipe to my family and they loved it. It was very easy to prepare and my 13yr. old son liked it. I recommend it to anyone who is looking for an easy new way to prepare sausage in a slow cooker. It might also make an interesting buffet addition. Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
An improvement on my tried-and-true recipe - Can't get better than that. The pork balls are tender, delicious and easy to serve and eat. This is a wonderful comfort meal. The only negative comment came from one eater saying I should have rinsed the sauerkraut and added water to reduce the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
We enjoyed a lot this recipe. I used brine sauerkraut which is less acid than the vinegar one, and I replaced part of it with a can of chicken broth. It is quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
My husband loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I love this recipe, I am from Eastern Europe and we have a dish that is extremely similar in taste, but more difficult to prepare. We do serve it with sour cream once it is on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I added smoked sausage and pearl onions studded with cloves between the layers of sauerkraut in the slow cooker. It went very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States