Pork Balls and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
An improvement on my tried-and-true recipe - Can't get better than that. The pork balls are tender, delicious and easy to serve and eat. This is a wonderful comfort meal. The only negative comment came from one eater saying I should have rinsed the sauerkraut and added water to reduce the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a good recipe, I have made it and also expanded on it several times. If you don't like sauerkraut then it is not for you, but for us who have Polish roots it's a favorite. A word about the rice, unless you are using minute rice always precook your rice or at least cook it halfway to done before putting it in a recipe like this one. I have also made this dish using the suggestion of another reviewer of adding the can of tomato soup. If you really feel lucky then put a layer of fresh cabbage on the bottom of the pot then your meatballs and add a half of the tomato soup and finish it off on the top with one of the cans of sauerkraut (only use one can of Kraut) and finish with the other half can of soup.This is similar to a stew my grandma use to make at New years. Very good but only if you like cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
This recipe was a good alternative to cabbage rolls. I added a can of tomato soup and a can of water to take away some of the sourness of the kraut. We really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IANKRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
I served this recipe to my family and they loved it. It was very easy to prepare and my 13yr. old son liked it. I recommend it to anyone who is looking for an easy new way to prepare sausage in a slow cooker. It might also make an interesting buffet addition. Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
We enjoyed a lot this recipe. I used brine sauerkraut which is less acid than the vinegar one, and I replaced part of it with a can of chicken broth. It is quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was so bad that we threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
We like sauerkraut at our house and the minor details we changed on this recipe made it taste great. I didn't have quite enough pork so I made the meatballs with sausage and pork combined which added an amazing flavor. I'd make it with sausage added every time now. And make sure you rinse the sauerkraut and replace the liquid with water or chicken broth. Then it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I added smoked sausage and pearl onions studded with cloves between the layers of sauerkraut in the slow cooker. It went very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Our family loved this! We did nothing different from the recipe. FYI... be ready to take it off after cooking for 1 hr. You probably won't need that extra 30 minutes, otherwise your pork will be tough. Keep in mind that ground pork is VERY LEAN. Therefore, it cooks up firm. If you want fattier meatballs that are softer when finished, you can mix in some beef, which would be yummy, too. Or you could use pork sausage, which has lots of fat to make it chewier. We loved ours with the plain ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The meatballs were mushy and had an overall bad flavor and way too much sauerkraut for the amount of meat. My entire family didn't want to touch it after the first bite. What a waste of time and money. Perhaps it would have been better on the stove, but I won't try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States