Pork, Apple, and Ginger Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Pretty tasty, but VERY sweet. Next time I'll make it without the applesauce and/or cut back on the sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is a great recipe! I used pork tenderloin instead of just loin and it was so tender. My hubby was disappointed when it was all gone - he'd been taking it for lunch. Next time I'll make more and see how it freezes. BTW, I did cut back on the sugar and used Splenda, it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Great recipe for the the whole family. I added a chopped onion, half a green bell pepper, sliced, 1 can each of bamboo shoots and water chestnuts, drained. I doubled the ingrediants for the sauce to compensate for the extra veggies. My husband and kids raved throughout dinner. They were all shocked to find out that it had applesauce in the recipe. Will fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemon jar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mims, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Different and delicious. Because other reviewers mentioned that this recipe was quite sweet, I used a little less applesauce and added about a tablespoon of rice vinegar. Zucchini, red onion, and mushrooms were the veggies I used and I served the stir fry over ramen noodles (cooked without the flavoring packet). The flavor combination of the sauce tasted like spicy Oriental apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I made this as written and it was really yummy. Will definitely make again. Next time I will add some more veggies though. I was given advice on the Recipe Exchange to use a cheese grater to "chop" the ginger after you peel it and it worked great. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
The sauce was a very good recipe. After tasting it I decided to add a little honey (I have a sweet tooth) and some chopped garlic). I used chicken and a mix of broccoli, carrots, water chestnuts, green beans, bell pepper, and onion for my veggies. A very good and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I did a pared down, lighter-on-the-calories version of this and it was spectacular. I used 1 tbsp of olive oil supplemented with olive oil cooking spray rather than the peanut and sesame oils. I left out the cornstarch and just cooked the pork in the olive oil. I didn't have broccoli, so I used a green pepper, a red pepper, and an onion, all sliced. Oh, and I had 1.5 pounds of pork tenderloin, so I used it all. I left the sauce unchanged (except used splenda brown sugar blend instead of brown sugar); it is delicious as written. My husband loved it even though he doesn't normally like sweet foods, and our three male guests raved about it. I served it with a basic fried rice (3 cups cooked white rice, 1 egg, 3 tablespoons each of soy sauce and rice vinegar, all fried up together with olive oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I did cut down on the sugars and added bell pepper and onion. all in all I thought it was really good :) thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Army_wife_07

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, New York, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
OH MY GOSH! This sauce is to die for! I used pork, but you could use beef or chicken or shrimp just as well. Veggie selection is unlimited too! I used green, red and yellow bell pepper, a handful of frozen green peas, yellow onion, chopped celery, drained water chestnuts and bean sprouts. You could also use mushrooms, baby corn, carrots, and of course, broccoli (as the recipe calls for). The sauce is the key! Served over fried rice – YUMMMM! Thank you, Jenny G.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
My family loved this. I didn't have fresh ginger, so I used 1/4 tsp ground ginger. Also, I added water chestnuts. Needed a bit more soy sauce after serving, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States