Pork, Apple, and Ginger Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was a great recipe. The kids really liked it, and the leftovers were good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Fantastic. Loved it and will make it again. I made my own applesauce versus commercial type and I didn't add any sugar. I added more vegetables as suggested, specifically red onion and mushrooms. Easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe was fabulous...and easy since I used left over pork roast. I added 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger (instead of using fresh) and 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, both to the sauce. Enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is great after a little tweaking. I omitted the brown sugar and soy sauce and used 1/4 c. Thai sweet soy sauce (available from a SE Asian market), 1 T. minced garlic, 1 small onion cut into 1 inch strips, 1 t. red pepper flakes and 1/4 t. black pepper. Also I used unsweetened apple sauce. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was quite tasty. I had some snow peas I wanted to use up so I subbed those for the broccoli and also added bit of cabbage. I used brown sugar splenda in the sauce and left out the apple sauce. I added a whole diced apple to the dish instead. It wasn't too sweet this way at all. I think I may even add moer apple next time as the mixture of apple and pork was very good. I served this over shirataki noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
My family loved this. I didn't have fresh ginger, so I used 1/4 tsp ground ginger. Also, I added water chestnuts. Needed a bit more soy sauce after serving, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
OH MY GOSH! This sauce is to die for! I used pork, but you could use beef or chicken or shrimp just as well. Veggie selection is unlimited too! I used green, red and yellow bell pepper, a handful of frozen green peas, yellow onion, chopped celery, drained water chestnuts and bean sprouts. You could also use mushrooms, baby corn, carrots, and of course, broccoli (as the recipe calls for). The sauce is the key! Served over fried rice – YUMMMM! Thank you, Jenny G.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I did cut down on the sugars and added bell pepper and onion. all in all I thought it was really good :) thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Army_wife_07

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, New York, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I did a pared down, lighter-on-the-calories version of this and it was spectacular. I used 1 tbsp of olive oil supplemented with olive oil cooking spray rather than the peanut and sesame oils. I left out the cornstarch and just cooked the pork in the olive oil. I didn't have broccoli, so I used a green pepper, a red pepper, and an onion, all sliced. Oh, and I had 1.5 pounds of pork tenderloin, so I used it all. I left the sauce unchanged (except used splenda brown sugar blend instead of brown sugar); it is delicious as written. My husband loved it even though he doesn't normally like sweet foods, and our three male guests raved about it. I served it with a basic fried rice (3 cups cooked white rice, 1 egg, 3 tablespoons each of soy sauce and rice vinegar, all fried up together with olive oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
The sauce was a very good recipe. After tasting it I decided to add a little honey (I have a sweet tooth) and some chopped garlic). I used chicken and a mix of broccoli, carrots, water chestnuts, green beans, bell pepper, and onion for my veggies. A very good and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States