Pork, Apple, and Ginger Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
In a word - "Delicious!" Only addition was that I sauteed some sliced carrots, bean spouts and snow peas with the broccoli. It made for a very full serving over Basmati rice. Thanks for the keeper Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe. I added bell peppers and kept everything the same. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
The flavors of this dish are great, but it's pretty heavy on the soy sauce. I halved it and still needed to add a little water at the end to mellow it out (almost took the rating down to a 3, but I think this recipe idea is worth keeping, so I'm being generous). The hoisin and ginger are awesome, plus I added black pepper and some chili flakes. I used a raw stir-fry mix of broccoli, carrots and snow peas. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I really liked this! The sauce has great flavor. It's not as good as Chinese food in a restaurant, but it's the best stir fry I've made at home so far. It made a lot of sauce, which we love. I used tofu instead of pork and only 1/2 a pound, so I added more broccoli. Also had to use 1/2 teaspoon dried ginger because the store was out of fresh, and only 3 tablespoons soy sauce which was plenty for our tastes. I'm glad I ran across this recipe because I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
UPDATE- The second time I made this, I realized that I had forgot to put the soy sauce into the sauce the first time. I liked it much better without the soy sauce- it makes the sauce much darker with a salty undertone. It was OK, but not nearly as good as the first time when I left it out. I have revised my rating to reflect this. 5 stars without the soy sauce- 3 stars with it. FIRST RATING (made without soy sauce): This recipe may be simple and quick but it's just delicious! The sauce is probably the easiest stir fry sauce I have ever made but it is also the best with wonderful texture, flavor and coverage. The only change I made was to add salt and pepper to the meat before cooking it but that is minor. I had some carrots on hand so chopped them into a fine julienne and served this dish over basmati rice. It will certainly be something I make again in the future. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
An excellent pork stir-fry - thanks for the recipe, Jenny G! Neither the ginger nor the hoisin is overly strong, and the applesauce gives the sauce just the right touch of sweetness. Very easy to prepare (even for a kitchen "mechanic" like me!) and everyone loved it. I can see where this would lend itself to all sorts of additions to help make it a real one-dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I really wanted to like recipe but I was disappointed. It could be that I am just not a hoisin fan. I found the sauce heavy and dark. Because my family liked this dish I've rated in the middle. Thanks anyway. It was fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
My new favorite recipe! I used snow peas, red peppers, scallions and mushroms. Amazing flavor. Great over ramen noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was fantasic! I reduced the soy sauce to 4 tablespoons (I don't like too much salt in my food) but other than that I made as written. The sauce is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Excellent as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States