Pork, Apple, and Ginger Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carmen T
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Great recipe. I added broccoli and mushrooms. Came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I'll admit I was skeptical of the apple sauce in the stir fry sauce but it works! I didn't make the recipe exactly as written just because I doubled it and didn't have quite enough ginger, I added minced garlic, used 1.5 times the sugar and didn't quite double the soy sauce because I'm always scared of it being too salty. (My daughter says I must have a salt sensitivity!) I put a bit of cornstarch in with the sauce and just sautéed the pork in a little bit of canola oil without dredging it. I also added a squirt of siracha to the sauce. The heat was good with the sweet. Oh, and I added three sliced carrots. So, it's a versatile recipe. It was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Followed directions, it was very good but a little sweet for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
My entire family enjoyed this dish. The apple flavor is subtle, but gives the dish a fall flavor. Surprised though that it did not include garlic. Will have to try adding it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Stellar! It's always refreshing when an adventurous cook introduces an unexpected ingredient into a recipe. The result: mouth wow. This was a great dish, and I would not change anything about it. Hard to mess with perfection. Thanks Jenny! Update: I have made this recipe 4 times now, and it's great every time. LOVE the applesauce. I would have never thought to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Really good. Made it with brussels sprouts, carrots and mushrooms and stir fried with boiled ramen noodles like others suggested. I halved the soy sauce and halved the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I like sweet sauces, but because a lot of reviews said it was too sweet, I cut back on the brown sugar. All I had was homemade sweetened applesauce, so I cut back on the applesauce too. It was still pretty sweet. I would definitely use unsweetened applesauce if I made this again. I added a little water to make up for the applesauce, and also soy sauce, that I cut back on. I added onion and minced garlic with the ginger and also added some carrots. I sprinkled with some red pepper at the end. The applesauce gives it a different texture, but it wasn't unpleasant, just different. It made a nice meal. I liked it but don't know that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Not good, way too sweet,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Yum! I didn't have any hoisin sauce, but I made some using cashew butter instead of peanut butter; used tamari instead of soy sauce; and used canola oil instead of peanut oil (all changes due to hubby's dietary restrictions). It took me longer than the recipe said to get the pork hot enough, but I think I may have not cooked it long enough the first round. Served this mixed up with rice noodles. We have a new "comfort food"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Five for the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States