Pork, Apple, and Ginger Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Really good. Made it with brussels sprouts, carrots and mushrooms and stir fried with boiled ramen noodles like others suggested. I halved the soy sauce and halved the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I like sweet sauces, but because a lot of reviews said it was too sweet, I cut back on the brown sugar. All I had was homemade sweetened applesauce, so I cut back on the applesauce too. It was still pretty sweet. I would definitely use unsweetened applesauce if I made this again. I added a little water to make up for the applesauce, and also soy sauce, that I cut back on. I added onion and minced garlic with the ginger and also added some carrots. I sprinkled with some red pepper at the end. The applesauce gives it a different texture, but it wasn't unpleasant, just different. It made a nice meal. I liked it but don't know that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Not good, way too sweet,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Yum! I didn't have any hoisin sauce, but I made some using cashew butter instead of peanut butter; used tamari instead of soy sauce; and used canola oil instead of peanut oil (all changes due to hubby's dietary restrictions). It took me longer than the recipe said to get the pork hot enough, but I think I may have not cooked it long enough the first round. Served this mixed up with rice noodles. We have a new "comfort food"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Five for the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was good but not great. I couldn't taste the apple which was disappointing. I even put extra applesauce in. The hoisin and ginger flavors took over but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
leaves alot to be desired. Could not taste apple. Way over board with the soy. Need more ginger and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Pretty good but I couldn't buy a plain tenderloin so I went with "apple bourbon" flavored because my only other option was teriyaki. It was too flavorful for my taste but I'd like to try again because obviously it was my meat choice. I toned down the sugar and soy as others suggested and used a bag of carrots, broccoli and snow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
make with more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Nice flavour. I decreased Soy Sauce to 4 Tbsp, used flour instead of cornstarch, used sesame & olive oil & used 2/3c of apple sauce. I also added a variety of colourful veggies (peppers, red onion, snow peas etc...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States