Pork, Apple, and Ginger Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Followed directions, it was very good but a little sweet for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
My entire family enjoyed this dish. The apple flavor is subtle, but gives the dish a fall flavor. Surprised though that it did not include garlic. Will have to try adding it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Stellar! It's always refreshing when an adventurous cook introduces an unexpected ingredient into a recipe. The result: mouth wow. This was a great dish, and I would not change anything about it. Hard to mess with perfection. Thanks Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Really good. Made it with brussels sprouts, carrots and mushrooms and stir fried with boiled ramen noodles like others suggested. I halved the soy sauce and halved the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I like sweet sauces, but because a lot of reviews said it was too sweet, I cut back on the brown sugar. All I had was homemade sweetened applesauce, so I cut back on the applesauce too. It was still pretty sweet. I would definitely use unsweetened applesauce if I made this again. I added a little water to make up for the applesauce, and also soy sauce, that I cut back on. I added onion and minced garlic with the ginger and also added some carrots. I sprinkled with some red pepper at the end. The applesauce gives it a different texture, but it wasn't unpleasant, just different. It made a nice meal. I liked it but don't know that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Not good, way too sweet,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Yum! I didn't have any hoisin sauce, but I made some using cashew butter instead of peanut butter; used tamari instead of soy sauce; and used canola oil instead of peanut oil (all changes due to hubby's dietary restrictions). It took me longer than the recipe said to get the pork hot enough, but I think I may have not cooked it long enough the first round. Served this mixed up with rice noodles. We have a new "comfort food"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Five for the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was good but not great. I couldn't taste the apple which was disappointing. I even put extra applesauce in. The hoisin and ginger flavors took over but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Could not taste apple. Way over board with the soy. Need more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States