Pork and Shrimp Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Wow! Pancit is an excellent fit into our diet. Bok choy, the small white stem kind, is often found in our fridge. We thin sliced it. I need to be gluten free so rice noodles, Asian sauces, and spices are common items in our pantry. We found the sauce to be perfectly balanced as listed. We doubled it like most everyone else. We thought the stir fry and set aside on the noodles a good idea and will try it out on several other recipes. We have found rice noodle cooking time can vary so checking after 10 minutes steep could save you from a sticky mess. Meat and veggies will reflect stock on hand in the future, but pork and shrimp was excellent. Pancit dishes will easily become a two or three times a month meal at our house. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Good recipe but I thought it needed more of a "kick" so we added some chili garlic paste on our plates. Thought lemon grass would also work well. I don't know if those 2 ingredients would be used in Philippine cuisine, buying think they would make the dish even better. I was okay with the texture of the noodles but my husband thought they were too mushy. Next time we might try less soaking and more sautéing to get a crunchier or firmer texture. Still an enjoyable meal as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Make this all the time since I grew up with this dish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoyinWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suquamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Made with shrimp only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TimandJocelyn Morse

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Just OK. easy to make and edible but not something I will be quick to make again. have another recipe from this site I think turns out MUCH better although this recipe is easier to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe for pancit. I have been using it for about 4 years now. The oyster sauce gives it a really nice flavor, and this dish tastes just like my favorite rice noodle dish at the local Asian buffet. I have tried the pancit recipes that just use soy sauce when I had run out of oyster sauce and they are not good at all, not even close to restaurant quality as this one is. I have fed this to a well-rounded group from rural Texan and Los Angeles Californian to Korean and it apparently appeals to popular taste. Regarding comments on whether its authentic, no two people cook exactly alike even if they are from the same country, and who cares anyway! It tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I thought this recipe was great! I made it with some leftover shredded pork loin that I had made earlier in the week in the crock pot. The pork kind of reminded us of tuna and with the seasonings and sauce from this recipe it worked very well. I'll definitely make this again when I have leftover pork to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I added shrimp pork and chicken that i bolied to get the stock that was needed for the dish. The only thing I would not do is to put the noodles in oil before hanf I cut them into four pieces and let them soak in water while I prepare everything else then at the end just added them and they came out great because of the steam and just tossed them through!!! This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I omitted oyster sauce & used fish sauce instead & Seasoned my meat with Ty Ling Five Spice Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was pretty good and very simple to make. We grilled our pork chops before dicing them in with the shrimp, and I added some fresh snow peas and a handful of sliced carrots. 2nd Day leftovers were fantastic. It was our first experience, too, with rice noodles and seemed to like them fairly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States