Pork and Sea Shells with Summer Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This was really good! A nice fresh summer pasta recipie. I used broccoli instead of squash, whole wheat penne to make it a bit healthier, and two pork tenderloins instead of chops. It is a really low fat, but delicious recipie. I had to add a 28 oz. can of tomatoes though. This is definitley a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Great recipe! I did make a few changes, though... First, wait to start the water for the pasta until your sauce is simmering. That way, everything is ready at the same time. Secondly, brown the pork for five minutes, then add the diced/chopped veggies and garlic and cook 3-4 minutes altogether. Helps intensify and meld the flavor. You can replace the tomato sauce with Snap-E-Tom (or Spicy V-8) for some extra kick. PS: The red wine adds a robust flavor to the sauce; definitely keep it in. This was a great recipe; will definitely go in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
We all loved this - I wish I could give it more stars! I - for once - followed the recipe exactly lol. My husband's only comment was that maybe another can of diced tomatoes would be the only change he'd make. It was so tasty though, and lots of good veggies for a nice well balanced meal. We used whole wheat shells too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Since the sauce takes 35 minutes to simmer, do not boil your noodles until the last 15 minutes of the sauce simmer. I added capers and used fire roasted diced tomatoes. This sauce has a full-bodied flavor and is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLYVIVE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Excellent summer meal - I left out the mushrooms for my BF, used fresh tomatoes instead of sauce and canned chopped and used spirals instead of shells, and sized the recipe for 4. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrienphoebecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Olyphant, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
The best recipe I've tried on Allrecipes to date. Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This was good. A little too much basil for me - I only used 2 TBS. I used one pork loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Was a little bland for my liking. I prefer my food flavorful and even with all the herbs the flavor just wasn't there for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mischiviex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this last night for dinner and it was ok. I follwed the recipe pretty much exactly except for I didnt have the red wine and I used more seasoning (to keep it from being bland). It was ok, nothing special. My bf didn't mind it. It had flavor but just wasn't as great as I thought. Just tasted like a tomato sauce over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Nice, simple. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States