Pork and Pepper Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This was SO good! I slightly browned my pork first, then put all ingredients in the slow cooker for about six hours. It was awesome. The pork was fall apart tender, and the broth was super spicy and flavorful. A new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surlysunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
It was nice. Didnt have any tomatoe paste, so used some ketchup instead. Didnt use the Jalepeno's as one of us doesn't like them. Used a pinch of Cayenne pepper instead. Also we had dumplings with it. Very nice recipe, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Delicious dish. I recommend the following tweaks: use olive oil instead of bacon grease. Skip the butter. Add garlic with onions. Add the tomato paste before the beef stock, 1 TBS at time under high heat (stirring constantly). Deglaze with the beef broth and finish in crock pot or under low heat on stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChickadeeD
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
This is a really good recipe and I will make it again. I used one of the review suggestions and I cooked it in my slow cooker. I didn’t have any jalapeno peppers so I used cayenne pepper and I didn’t use quite enough, it wasn’t very hot. I also put the peppers in the last few hours of cooking time so they wouldn’t get all mushy and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Way too much grease and butter! I used 2T bacon grease for browning the pork and 1T butter for the onions. Add a pinch of salt while cooking the onions to help them soften and get sweeter. There is no need to use expensive tenderloin for this. Pork loin stands up better to long slow cooking. To reduce the heat, remove seeds and white membranes from the Jalapeno peppers. The tomato paste should be sauteed until it darkens and caramelizes before adding the beef broth. That removes the harsh acidic taste and adds a mellow sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This was a great recipe that both husband and children loved. I will be using this one for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Easy with a different sort of zing. I just served it to dinner guests. One guest was gluten-free so I omitted the flour and it was fine. I did add a splash of kirshwasser because I think that alcohol adds a special flavor to most stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Delicious! I will make this dish again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly except for using pork that were cut into bite sized cubes (I had frozen meat cut for kabobs and I wanted to use that up before it got too old). Anyway, I am glad I did that because the meat was falling apart after only 1 hour of cooking - can't imagine how strips of pork can hold up - also - I cut the peppers into thin strips and they just cooked away to almost nothing. By the end of cooking this for an hour - I had pork cubes in a lot of sauce and just bits of peppers. It did have good flavor though. I was going to add more beef broth thinking one can would not be sufficient but it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States