Pork and Pepper Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
not a favorite. \i was skeptical about adding the peppers so early and i was right. a hour later all the peppers disintegrated. (unlike the photo) so i sliced more bell pepper added it to the pot and cooked for 30 minutes longer, finally whole pieces of pepper. still didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Wonderful. I did not use bacon grease, just a little vegetable oil to get the meat started. I did use the butter to saute the onions because I wanted the roux to work correctly. As for the paprika I substituted 1 TB smoked paprika for one of the 3 TBs and the result was delicious. The smoked paprika added the depth I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela McGovern
Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This turned out amazing. It's pretty similar to sweet and sour pork. I used more beef broth because I like lots of sauce. The pork was so tender and the flavor was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe was pretty good as is! Nice and spicy to warm the belly My learning curve/discoveries: Add the salt that it says to, I reduced thinking it was a lot...it wasn't Follow liquid directions exactly it was perfect, didn't seem like a lot of liquid at first but it was a good amount by the end Could benefit from the full 2 lbs of meat (only used 1lb thinking 2 was a lot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was a hit with all of us, everyone loved it! I didn't use bacon grease though - I would have if I had cooked bacon recently but I hadn't, and I wouldn't use 1/4c though - we used a little olive oil to brown the meat. We didn't make many other changes - I didn't get any jalapeno peppers, I forgot them, so I used 1/2tsp crushed red pepper flakes for some heat. Also due to a misunderstanding DH added the whole can of paste, not the end of the world :) At first it seemed that it was going to be way too thick, but the 'broth' was plenty as it cooked. I served over brown basmati rice, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Way too much grease and butter! I used 2T bacon grease for browning the pork and 1T butter for the onions. Add a pinch of salt while cooking the onions to help them soften and get sweeter. There is no need to use expensive tenderloin for this. Pork loin stands up better to long slow cooking. To reduce the heat, remove seeds and white membranes from the Jalapeno peppers. The tomato paste should be sauteed until it darkens and caramelizes before adding the beef broth. That removes the harsh acidic taste and adds a mellow sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was fine. Nothing too exciting- not bland or spicy. It was pretty easy to make and easy cleanup though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Delicious dish. I recommend the following tweaks: use olive oil instead of bacon grease. Skip the butter. Add garlic with onions. Add the tomato paste before the beef stock, 1 TBS at time under high heat (stirring constantly). Deglaze with the beef broth and finish in crock pot or under low heat on stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Easy with a different sort of zing. I just served it to dinner guests. One guest was gluten-free so I omitted the flour and it was fine. I did add a splash of kirshwasser because I think that alcohol adds a special flavor to most stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This recipe is wonderful.. Even though I reduced the fat... high colesterol here...I cut out the bacon grease and cut back on the butter a bit... this turned out wonderful. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States