Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This recipe deserves 10 stars - it was so simple and so delicious! The only changes I made were to add some salt and pepper to the pork while it was browning, and I substituted cheddar for the Colby. We ate this "nachos" style, topped with more cheese (we're from Wisconsin and there is no such thing as too much cheese!) and sour cream, and scooped up with tortilla chips. You just HAVE to try this recipe - it's so much better than you think it's going to be! To cut down on the dishes, I did everything in one large, oven-proof skillet, and then just popped that into the oven instead of dirtying a 13 x 9. I can't wait to make this again! Thank you for a killer dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was a great family recipe. Both of my kids gobbled it up rolled in tortillas burrito style. I made my changes: sauteed onion with the pork, added seasoning salt, added can corn and pigeon peas and lots more spice and cheese to our taste. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Everyone loved this dish. At first I was a little worried by the looks but once I tasted it I was thrilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Thought this recipe was excellent. Eat it with tortillas, tortilla chips, or just with some sour cream. I used chicken instead of pork and used 2 cans of rotel in place of diced tomatoes and green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trenton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I only had one can of green chilies, but it was still really good! We topped it with light sour cream. I thought the pork came out super tender. I also sauted onions with the pork, and used cut-up pork roast instead of pork chops because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Very good, it made a lot and I only halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
We thought this was ok but were expecting more flavor. Next time I make this I am going to add garlic and onion when cooking the pork and use taco seasoning instead of cumin. That said I will still be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was good but after adding water, it was too liquidy. I might use chicken instead or pork next time since my family is not so fond of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I had every intention of making this exactly as written, but as I assembled my ingredients I discovered I had forgotten to buy salsa. So I did the Ro-Tel tomatoes route several others have suggested. I used a boneless pork tenderloin and the meat was very tender. I cut back a good bit on the cumin because of personal preference. I heated some flour tortillas on a griddle until they were crisp, and we just broke off pieces to eat with the casserole. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was simple but very tasty. I forgot to drain and rinse the black beans so it turned out a little saucey. But it was still great. My husband is not a big fan of casseroles but he enjoyed this one. I will make this again! Would make a great filling for burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOT2COOK44

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States