Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I used a pork loin roast instead. Wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the tomatoes or not. So I did. But this was still too soupy to put on a tortilla so we scooped it up with baked tortilla chips. I would definitely recommend increasing the cheese by at least another cup. I added pre-cooked brown rice just before sticking it in the oven. (Deleted the extra water). Pretty bland even though I added garlic, onion and chipotle powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
We really liked this! I would use more cumin and chili powder next time though. And the kids wanted more cheese. Adults added cilantro and jalapeno which really topped it off. Kids added sour cream. We ate this with corn tortillas. I let this sit while I was preparing the rest of the meal (this really is a quick yummy dish!) and the longer it sat before baking in the oven, the more the flavors blended together. This was good eaten with chips as a dip the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
i won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was fabulous. I made it with the leftovers from the Pork Chile Rojo recipe I got from this site. It was spectacular and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I needed about triple the amount of water to get the rice cooked, but we thought this was pretty darn good. I sauteed garlic and onion with the pork and used fire roasted tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I agree with previous reviewer: I felt like something was missing. 2 stars to me means that I was able to finish the dish I made (wasn't a pizza emergency), but I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Liked this a lot. Added chopped black olives. Also skipped the baking step - stirred in 1/2 cup of colby-jack cheese and then sprinkled the other 1/2 on top to melt. Might have been a little better baked, but decided to keep it a 1 pot meal instead. Next time I may add some corn just to add another flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I followed the suggestions of others and this was great. My family and guests loved it, and I'll definitly make it again. I used a pork picnic roast instead of loin, and sauted it with garlic, salt and pepper. I added an packet of taco seasoning, a can of corn and served it with salsa and sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe was okay. Nothing spectacular about it. It lacked spice and was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I agree with Mesadebs, puree a drained can of pinto beans and it gives the creamy texture, it's healthier and is low in sodium (much more mexican than using canned soup). I used two cans of "hot" chile peppers, and a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos. I only had about a tablespoon of cumin, so I added some coriander with it, and the flavor was outstanding. Topped it with sharp cheddar cheese, and served it with tortillas, muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States