Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I needed about triple the amount of water to get the rice cooked, but we thought this was pretty darn good. I sauteed garlic and onion with the pork and used fire roasted tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I agree with previous reviewer: I felt like something was missing. 2 stars to me means that I was able to finish the dish I made (wasn't a pizza emergency), but I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Liked this a lot. Added chopped black olives. Also skipped the baking step - stirred in 1/2 cup of colby-jack cheese and then sprinkled the other 1/2 on top to melt. Might have been a little better baked, but decided to keep it a 1 pot meal instead. Next time I may add some corn just to add another flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I followed the suggestions of others and this was great. My family and guests loved it, and I'll definitly make it again. I used a pork picnic roast instead of loin, and sauted it with garlic, salt and pepper. I added an packet of taco seasoning, a can of corn and served it with salsa and sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe was okay. Nothing spectacular about it. It lacked spice and was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I agree with Mesadebs, puree a drained can of pinto beans and it gives the creamy texture, it's healthier and is low in sodium (much more mexican than using canned soup). I used two cans of "hot" chile peppers, and a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos. I only had about a tablespoon of cumin, so I added some coriander with it, and the flavor was outstanding. Topped it with sharp cheddar cheese, and served it with tortillas, muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This is a good basic casserole. I used red kidney beans because I didn't have black beans and cream of mushroom soup for the same reason. I also cooked the brown rice in chicken stock before adding to mixture. I added a teaspoon of taco seasoning along with the cumin and instead of water I put 1/4 cup chicken stock. I will make this again with more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was very good. I doubled the recipe and took it to my Bible study. Everyone really liked it. The only changes I made was to add some taco seasoning and and I used cooked brown rice instead of the instant. I didn't put it in a 9 x 13 pan, I just put it in my crock pot for easy transportation and had warm flour tortillas and grated cheese on the side. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I served this with whole wheat tortillas and my family raved about this dish! It was very tasty. I may try chicken next time as I am not a big pork fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Pretty bland - but it could be a good starter recipe. Needs a lot more spice and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States