Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is one of the best recipes I've tried! It has it all... its super easy, quick, and full of flavor! I'm making it again and will slightly tweak it for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I had some peeled roasted green chile left over & didnt want it to go bad, so i gave this recipe a shot. Since i didnt have instant brown rice, i cooked some of the normal kind in a pressure cooker for 18 mins and added it to the casserole (nixing the additional water). The result was a very nice burrito stuffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was so fantastic! I had about a half of a pork loin roast i had made for dinner one night and decided to use it up a little differently this time. Glad I found this recipe! instead of brown instant rice I used my regular jasmine and since I didn't have any black beans on hand, used 2 cans of white beans and 2 cans of diced tomatoes so that the casserole would be more moist. used a mexican blend of shredded cheese as well and boy did our entire family really dig this dish!! we had it for left=overs at least twice which is rare in this house! Thanks and I WILL make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I only had one tablespoon of cumin. I had to add extra water for the rice to cook. I only had one can of green chile peppers, but I had about 4 to 5 tablespoons japleno peppers. I used mexican shredded cheese instead of colby. Might try a mexican rice instead of brown rice next time. I really enjoyed something new. Great recipe! Thank you for your receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This casserole was quick and delicious! I served directly from the saucepan and did not use tortillas. No need to bake in the oven just sprinkle the cheese on top when dish is still hot. I used a pork tenderloin that cooked in the Crockpot all day. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara_in_the_kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fountain City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Made this just tonight for supper and my husband absolutely LOVED it. Is super simple; the only effort involves cutting up the pork. I only made 3 changes to this: instead of using 2 cans of green chilies, I added a couple extra Tablespoons of salsa, then used a can of Rotel (tomatoes w/green chilies) With Lime and Cilantro instead of plain Rotel. Last change I made due to time constraints was that I didn't put the casserole in the oven to melt the cheese, simply layered it over the hot (bubbling) casserole in my saute pan and let it melt there. Served this with sour cream and diced fresh tomatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was very good made it for my family last night. They all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Awesome!!! I used chicken instead of pork because that's what was in the freezer. Other then that I followed the recipe, it was fantastic! The family all loved it so its a keeper for sure. Quick and easy, as well as full of flavor and filling. Thanks a lot for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I really liked the consistancy of this dish. I served it with a side of steamed 4-color peppers as well as avacado slices. It was very filling and satisfying, thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Very good! My only substitution was sharp cheddar instead of colby cheese. I took suggestions of others, making it in a large skillet and just popping that in the oven, as well as trying it with Scoops chips. Both were excellent ideas. I served it with one of my favorite sides, fried plantain sprinkled with nutmeg and kosher salt, and topped it off with a margarita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States