Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I had every intention of making this exactly as written, but as I assembled my ingredients I discovered I had forgotten to buy salsa. So I did the Ro-Tel tomatoes route several others have suggested. I used a boneless pork tenderloin and the meat was very tender. I cut back a good bit on the cumin because of personal preference. I heated some flour tortillas on a griddle until they were crisp, and we just broke off pieces to eat with the casserole. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was simple but very tasty. I forgot to drain and rinse the black beans so it turned out a little saucey. But it was still great. My husband is not a big fan of casseroles but he enjoyed this one. I will make this again! Would make a great filling for burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOT2COOK44

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
i did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi Goulette Lozensky
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Very good recipe! I did substitute chicken for the pork, also used diced tomatoes with green chiles and only 1 can of green chiles instead of 2. I didn't have colby cheese so I used sharp cheddar cheese. Served over tortilla chips like nachos, it was very much like a dip. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Goulette Lozensky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Loved the taste of this dish and the ease of making it! I only wish it was easier to make only 1/2.... I end up feeding the office with the leftovers (and they are very grateful!). Thanks for a super supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This dish was outstanding! Very quick and easy to prepare but tastes delicious. I added cayenne pepper for a little zip, increased the salsa to 4 tablespoons and used 2 cups of 4 Chees Mexican cheese (monterey jack, cheddar, queso quesadilla and asadero shredded cheese). The additional cheese allowed to completely cover the baking dish. the extra cheese is personal preference...I like a lot of cheese! When served I topped mine with sour cream and extra salsa, but it was very good without the extra toppings too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin.Fitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I made this for my friends and their boyfriends, everyone loved it and we're having the leftovers for lunch today! We used chicken instead of pork, and rotel instead of green chiles, served with tortillas and sour cream. Awesome dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This was an excellent recipe! I pretty much followed the recipe to a T but used Chicken instead of Pork and left out the 1/4 c. water, used Italian Diced Tomatoes and only 1 T. Cumin since others said it was too strong but I didn't even taste it - this makes a TON so we will be eating it as leftovers tonight and probably tomorrow, that is how much is left. We used Tortillas and ate it as a wrap. SO GOOD! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
WOW--We really liked this one! We only used one can of the green chilis which was fine for us; and my boyfriend thinks we should cut back a bit on the Cumin next time so maybe we'll try 1 1/2T of that instead of the 2T. This is a really good, filling dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This recipe is just bursting with flavor, and it is so easy to make. I did make a few changes, I used chicken instead of pork, I sauteed half an onion with the chicken, and I pre-cooked regular brown rice instead of instant. If you liked this recipe I suggest you try "Beans and Rice" from this website (don't let the name fool you, it really isn't like rice and beans at all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States