Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
We thought this was great as a filling for tortillas or as a nacho topping. I used instant white rice as I didn't have brown rice on-hand; would substitute 2 Rotels for the diced toms/diced chilies; would use 1 Tbsp, instead of 2, of cumin, and add a dash of oregano. Serve with sour cream and avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
My family and I loved this dish -we've already made it a few times! It's so easy! We made the following substitutions: used Rotel instead of the regular tomatos, and we added peppercinis. Also used chicken instead of pork. Used green salsa and low fat soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Like everyone else, I was pleasantly surprised. I'm also not sure what I'm going to do with all the leftovers - it makes alot! I used 1 1/2T cumin instead which was perfect for that spice, but it seemed like it needed something else. I might sub more salsa for some diced tomatoes or maybe some diced jalapenos for a little of the green chiles. I'm going to make sausage-shapped rolls for freezing so I can slap it in a tortilla for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This is pretty good. I think it needed a few more spices, but it was tasty as is. I might add some dried chipotle red pepper and cilantro. I liked the instant brown rice it made the recipe a little healthier and faster. I don't think it's a company meal, but it was a nice family dinner. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conchmom33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was very yummy. A great comfort food. I added some chedder cheese into the mix, and then topped with more chedder cheese. I enjoyed the texture of the brown rice in this dish. I used only 1 can of green chili's and halved the cumin. It was still awesome. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casserole Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This recipe deserves 10 stars - it was so simple and so delicious! The only changes I made were to add some salt and pepper to the pork while it was browning, and I substituted cheddar for the Colby. We ate this "nachos" style, topped with more cheese (we're from Wisconsin and there is no such thing as too much cheese!) and sour cream, and scooped up with tortilla chips. You just HAVE to try this recipe - it's so much better than you think it's going to be! To cut down on the dishes, I did everything in one large, oven-proof skillet, and then just popped that into the oven instead of dirtying a 13 x 9. I can't wait to make this again! Thank you for a killer dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was a great family recipe. Both of my kids gobbled it up rolled in tortillas burrito style. I made my changes: sauteed onion with the pork, added seasoning salt, added can corn and pigeon peas and lots more spice and cheese to our taste. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Everyone loved this dish. At first I was a little worried by the looks but once I tasted it I was thrilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Thought this recipe was excellent. Eat it with tortillas, tortilla chips, or just with some sour cream. I used chicken instead of pork and used 2 cans of rotel in place of diced tomatoes and green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trenton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I only had one can of green chilies, but it was still really good! We topped it with light sour cream. I thought the pork came out super tender. I also sauted onions with the pork, and used cut-up pork roast instead of pork chops because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Jones Frandsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States