Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Awesome!!! I used chicken instead of pork because that's what was in the freezer. Other then that I followed the recipe, it was fantastic! The family all loved it so its a keeper for sure. Quick and easy, as well as full of flavor and filling. Thanks a lot for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I really liked the consistancy of this dish. I served it with a side of steamed 4-color peppers as well as avacado slices. It was very filling and satisfying, thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Very good! My only substitution was sharp cheddar instead of colby cheese. I took suggestions of others, making it in a large skillet and just popping that in the oven, as well as trying it with Scoops chips. Both were excellent ideas. I served it with one of my favorite sides, fried plantain sprinkled with nutmeg and kosher salt, and topped it off with a margarita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
4 of my neighbors followed their noses to my kitchen and loved it. I liked it very much, too. We didn't even bake it in the oven. As soon as that stuff was hot, we grated the cheese over it and chowed down. I made some changes out of necessity, because I didn't have everything and some changes out of preference, because I'm the cook and I can do it any way I want. Here goes: I didn't have pork, so I used leftover, skinned, deboned chicken thighs and drumsticks. I chopped a 1/2 a large onion, a couple chopped cloves of garlic and a seeded, chopped sweet yellow bell pepper and sauteed them all in a little chicken fat until they were done, then mixed all the canned ingredients into them. I used a small can of chopped mild green chilies and a (generic) can mild Rotel tomatoes and chilies. I doubled the cream of chicken soup (2 cans) and added about 1/4 cup good quality salsa (I like Herdez, it's an authentic Mexican brand, high quality and very reasonable.). I used leftover cooked brown rice that I had on hand and the can of drained and rinsed black beans, but I also added a drained 29 oz. can of white hominy. Why? Because I like hominy, and it's very southwestern. I didn't have any cumin, so I skipped it and I used grated sharp cheddar, it was all I had. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to use up some left over pork roast and tried this. Since the pork was already cooked, I just sauted some chopped onion in a small amount of chicken broth and added the pork, black beans, tomatoes with green chili peppers in them, a can of corn, a can of cream of chicken, three Tb of salsa, and 1 Tb of cumin, no water since I didn't add the rice. My husband preferred it over rice so I cooked the rice separate. I heated it on the stove top and didn't put it in the oven. We both enjoyed it. I ate it with chips like a dip with shredded Mexi cheese and sour cream stirred in . Thanks for the suggestions from others. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Yummy! I made it with chicken instead of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elisabeth
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I used a pork loin roast instead. Wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the tomatoes or not. So I did. But this was still too soupy to put on a tortilla so we scooped it up with baked tortilla chips. I would definitely recommend increasing the cheese by at least another cup. I added pre-cooked brown rice just before sticking it in the oven. (Deleted the extra water). Pretty bland even though I added garlic, onion and chipotle powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
We really liked this! I would use more cumin and chili powder next time though. And the kids wanted more cheese. Adults added cilantro and jalapeno which really topped it off. Kids added sour cream. We ate this with corn tortillas. I let this sit while I was preparing the rest of the meal (this really is a quick yummy dish!) and the longer it sat before baking in the oven, the more the flavors blended together. This was good eaten with chips as a dip the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
i won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was fabulous. I made it with the leftovers from the Pork Chile Rojo recipe I got from this site. It was spectacular and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States