Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was good however I can't figure out how 1/4 C of water was supposed to cook 1 1/2 cups of rice?!? I used white rice, maybe the brown takes less liquid? Anyway I ended up using about 2 cups of water. I added extra green chilis and can tomato to fit my tastes. I think i would use more pork and less rice next time. I also used pepperjack colby and cheddar cheeses. Oh. I seasoned the pork with the cumin, all seasoning and pepper before browning. I will keep this recipe, and play with it :) UPDATE 10/28 I made this tonight with pork, leftover rice and an entire jar of salsa. I browned the pork, added the leftover rice, a can of black beans and a jar of salsa. I let it cook for a minute then topped with cheese and popped it in the oven. One dish. It was done in 20ish minutes. That's how I will be making this from now on (pre cooked rice, more salsa, no soup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
good recipe! changes made were: chicken breast instead of pork, 1 Tbs. cumin only (2 seemed excessive, even for someone who really likes cumin in the mexican food), 1 can green chiles only, sprinkling of chili powder & garlic powder, plus about 3/4 tsp. salt added. also completely covered in cheese before baking. serve with pico de gallo & guacamole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deetergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I cooked this as per directions, except I pre-cooked my own brown rice in the rice cooker and put it in at the end. Just wonderful! Our grown son stopped by and when he tasted this, he gave it ten stars and took a Tupperware container home with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaxwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I got this recipe a few years ago from a friend. The only difference is her recipe only calls for 1 C of rice and 1 tsp of cumin and is baked in a 2Q casserole dish. Wonderful quick and easy dinner though. I love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I would give this 4 stars as is, but with a few additions it's definitely a 5. Per others' suggestions, I seasoned the pork with salt, pepper and some chili powder will browning. I also added in half a bag of frozen corn to the mixture. And instead of water, I used chicken broth. I ended up having to cook the mixture longer than 15 minutes to get the rice to soften. Next time I will cut up the pork a little smaller if serving in tortillas. And I didn't have any cilantro on hand, but it would be great with cilantro on top. My boyfriend loved this. It was a hit! And it's even better as leftovers the next day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is one of the best recipes I've tried! It has it all... its super easy, quick, and full of flavor! I'm making it again and will slightly tweak it for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I had some peeled roasted green chile left over & didnt want it to go bad, so i gave this recipe a shot. Since i didnt have instant brown rice, i cooked some of the normal kind in a pressure cooker for 18 mins and added it to the casserole (nixing the additional water). The result was a very nice burrito stuffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was so fantastic! I had about a half of a pork loin roast i had made for dinner one night and decided to use it up a little differently this time. Glad I found this recipe! instead of brown instant rice I used my regular jasmine and since I didn't have any black beans on hand, used 2 cans of white beans and 2 cans of diced tomatoes so that the casserole would be more moist. used a mexican blend of shredded cheese as well and boy did our entire family really dig this dish!! we had it for left=overs at least twice which is rare in this house! Thanks and I WILL make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I only had one tablespoon of cumin. I had to add extra water for the rice to cook. I only had one can of green chile peppers, but I had about 4 to 5 tablespoons japleno peppers. I used mexican shredded cheese instead of colby. Might try a mexican rice instead of brown rice next time. I really enjoyed something new. Great recipe! Thank you for your receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This casserole was quick and delicious! I served directly from the saucepan and did not use tortillas. No need to bake in the oven just sprinkle the cheese on top when dish is still hot. I used a pork tenderloin that cooked in the Crockpot all day. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara_in_the_kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fountain City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States