Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was average at best. I would use chicken rather than pork. The pork was really dry. My kids eat everything and this was a bust with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
My family and I really liked this one. I did make a couple changes....I used Campbells southwest style pepper jack soup in place of the cream of chicken and I added a can of mexicorn and some sliced olives. The leftovers make a great filling for enchiladas!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambria, California, USA
Living In: Paisley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This is a fabulous dish. I added fresh cilantro otherwise made it exactly and everyone in my family liked it, including my 8 year son who doesn't like many casseroles. This is going into the mix of favorites at our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I felt like I was in authentic Mexican restaurant eating this dish. I loved it. I used chicken rather than pork, and I did not have instant brown rice so I parboiled the regular brown rice, drained it and added instead (that part was a bit annoying). We enjoyed the leftovers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This recipe is not quite a 5 but it's more than a 4, and certainly worth making. The only thing is you may have to add more than 1/4 cup of water. I added more water twice. The dish was really good but not as good as leftovers, like some are. I will be making this for small dinner parties in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was really good and the family enjoyed it. I made quite a few changes, though, due to taste and what I had on hand. I used steamed Jasmine rice (uncooked 1 cup) in place of instant brown rice. I used 1 can of tomatoes and green chiles and a 4 oz can of tomato sauce in place of the can of tomatoes and can of chiles. I didn't add the water because of how I made the rice. I added 1 Tbsp of green chile powder. I added a can of drained sweet corn. I used Campbells Healthy Request soup (can't have regular due to MSG). I added 2 minced cloves of roasted garlic to the meat as it cooked - and used peppercorn pork tenderloin. I used Southwestern Salsa. I also used shredded sharp cheddar. I didn't cook the mixture in the oven - just let it simmer on the stove top and added the cheese at the table (didn't want to wash another pan). I served it with tortilla chips and fresh avocado on top. I'm going to use all the ingredients but the rice and make a dip, substituting ground beef for the pork. I'm also going to try the entire recipe with chicken. Very yummy and "stick to your ribs" and great on a cold evening - lots of leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Add some more cumin to kick it up a notch. Other than that...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Vickers Gerbine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Fabulous! And incredibly easy! I did replace the green chili's with a can of rotel. And with a dollop of sour cream, this casserole is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This is very good. It has a lot of flavor. Love avocados and tomatoes on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Yum, I really enjoyed this healthy recipe. Some good spice to it and the cheese on top is makes it gooey and very tasty. Great for a quick dinner for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States