Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Made this for a church potluck and it disappeared quickly! I cooked up 1 cup brown rice the evening before, substituted cream of celery soup, and omitted the water. 2 Tbsp cumin is not too much. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was a very enjoyable dish. I served it for a luncheon with some girlfriends and they had me copy the recipe for them. Our dish was moist and tender. It's always best to use good cuts of meat for more sucessful dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Pretty good, I must say. I did up the water to 1/2 c., and used the Rotel as others suggested. I also used the colby/monterey jack cheese. Note: Not good for those with taste buds that don't agree with heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I am sorry to say I did not like this recipe, I think the cumin dominated the taste. I am giving it 3 stars because my husband did like it and it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Graver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was average at best. I would use chicken rather than pork. The pork was really dry. My kids eat everything and this was a bust with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
My family and I really liked this one. I did make a couple changes....I used Campbells southwest style pepper jack soup in place of the cream of chicken and I added a can of mexicorn and some sliced olives. The leftovers make a great filling for enchiladas!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambria, California, USA
Living In: Paisley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This is a fabulous dish. I added fresh cilantro otherwise made it exactly and everyone in my family liked it, including my 8 year son who doesn't like many casseroles. This is going into the mix of favorites at our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I felt like I was in authentic Mexican restaurant eating this dish. I loved it. I used chicken rather than pork, and I did not have instant brown rice so I parboiled the regular brown rice, drained it and added instead (that part was a bit annoying). We enjoyed the leftovers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This recipe is not quite a 5 but it's more than a 4, and certainly worth making. The only thing is you may have to add more than 1/4 cup of water. I added more water twice. The dish was really good but not as good as leftovers, like some are. I will be making this for small dinner parties in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was really good and the family enjoyed it. I made quite a few changes, though, due to taste and what I had on hand. I used steamed Jasmine rice (uncooked 1 cup) in place of instant brown rice. I used 1 can of tomatoes and green chiles and a 4 oz can of tomato sauce in place of the can of tomatoes and can of chiles. I didn't add the water because of how I made the rice. I added 1 Tbsp of green chile powder. I added a can of drained sweet corn. I used Campbells Healthy Request soup (can't have regular due to MSG). I added 2 minced cloves of roasted garlic to the meat as it cooked - and used peppercorn pork tenderloin. I used Southwestern Salsa. I also used shredded sharp cheddar. I didn't cook the mixture in the oven - just let it simmer on the stove top and added the cheese at the table (didn't want to wash another pan). I served it with tortilla chips and fresh avocado on top. I'm going to use all the ingredients but the rice and make a dip, substituting ground beef for the pork. I'm also going to try the entire recipe with chicken. Very yummy and "stick to your ribs" and great on a cold evening - lots of leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States