Pork and Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I'm part Filipino and this recipe needs several changes. It's an easy dish to prepare and cooks in under an hour. For pork adobo, I usually use pork loin steaks, sliced or not. Brown pork in a skillet on medium high heat til nearly done. I've never needed oil to brown the meat. In a small bowl, mix 1/3 cup soy sauce, 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar and 1 2/3 cups water. Pour over browned meat. Season generously with garlic powder or granulated garlic. Add 2 bay leaves to the sauce. Cook uncovered on medium to medium high heat. The sauce will cook at a slow steady boil, and the flavor will absorb into the meat. You can save a little sauce or let the sauce evaporate. I usually save a little sauce for the meat and steamed white rice. No need to use rub on meat. Do not add salt or pepper - it will be TOO salty! And no need to marinate. Chicken adobo is another recipe. Prepared correctly, adobo is a 5 star recipe! Family and friends devour it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I like the combination of meats in this recipe. I like the vinegar flavor and added some canned veggies to rice for a more balanced meal. I accidentally decreased the salt to 3 tsp and it probably made a huge difference. It was very tasty with a good strong kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Yap this recipe is kinda salty, because soy sauce is already salty. Especially if you use asian soy sauces like marca pina or ufc. My style of adobo is marinating it with vinegar, soy sauce, wine, garlic, bayleaf and brown sugar. Simmer all of it then drain reserving the sauce. In a skillet, fry garlic and little bit of onion, potato then add the pork and chicken by batch. Then pour the sauce when done and bring it to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever21gaga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I gave this a 3 Star cuz I haven't actually tried making it this way, but just reading that soy sauce is optional... well, I'll have to agree with the other Filifolks in here. Soy sauce is a MUST. Oh, also my Chinese grandmother used to throw in hard-boiled quail eggs in the broth/sauce. Or regular hard-boiled chicken eggs when she ran out of money to get the expensive quail eggs. You can tell your non-Filipino friends, "OMFG, my chicken adobo laid some eggs!!!" Oh, plus, PLUS!!! Try adding some coconut milk in there. Mmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xinito
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I am not Filipino but my step mother is and an excellent cook at that. Her pork adobo was one of my all time favorite meals. I lost the recipe over the years and was hoping to find a similar version on here. This tastes nothing like it at all... at all. Very disappointed. I wonder if the author typed the measurements up correctly because I did not care for the taste, and I don't imagine any restaurant serving this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayzie71
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Too salty really. I am Filipino and this is something that might help everyone... dont knock it till you taste it because it will be good... -- same amounts of pork and chicken -- mix the ratio of vinegar and soy with 1:1 meaning one cup soy one cup vinegar -- do not crack the bay leaf... just put two whole bay leaves with pepper corn in it... -- now here's the kicker... with all the ingredients together with 2 cloves of smashed garlic, soy, vinegar, the pepper and the bay leaf, add a tea spoon of Worcestershire on it... then shove it all into a pressure cooker -- cook for 20 minutes and take it out... drain the meat from the sauce.. pick up the oil residue and put in a frying pan. Fry all the meats (Pork and Chicken) till tender and dry... Serve in a deep sauce pan and pour all the Sauce... This will taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The first thing I said is where is the Bay leaf, also soy is not oprional, add potatoes as well and real garilc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Way too much salt. I had to rinse it off in hot water to be able to serve it. I would suggest maybe 1 tsp. salt. Remember the Soy sauce is also salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Way too much salt. I made a double batch and couldn't use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMIYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
There really is chicken and pork adobo, and it is actually one of my favorite foods. Anyway, I wonder where what restaurant that is, it must be closed by now... I was really surprised when soy sauce was optional here, when it is actually one of the main ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki avery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States