Pork and Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Way too much salt. I had to rinse it off in hot water to be able to serve it. I would suggest maybe 1 tsp. salt. Remember the Soy sauce is also salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I'm part Filipino and this recipe needs several changes. It's an easy dish to prepare and cooks in under an hour. For pork adobo, I usually use pork loin steaks, sliced or not. Brown pork in a skillet on medium high heat til nearly done. I've never needed oil to brown the meat. In a small bowl, mix 1/3 cup soy sauce, 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar and 1 2/3 cups water. Pour over browned meat. Season generously with garlic powder or granulated garlic. Add 2 bay leaves to the sauce. Cook uncovered on medium to medium high heat. The sauce will cook at a slow steady boil, and the flavor will absorb into the meat. You can save a little sauce or let the sauce evaporate. I usually save a little sauce for the meat and steamed white rice. No need to use rub on meat. Do not add salt or pepper - it will be TOO salty! And no need to marinate. Chicken adobo is another recipe. Prepared correctly, adobo is a 5 star recipe! Family and friends devour it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The first thing I said is where is the Bay leaf, also soy is not oprional, add potatoes as well and real garilc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Way too much salt. I made a double batch and couldn't use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMIYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
There really is chicken and pork adobo, and it is actually one of my favorite foods. Anyway, I wonder where what restaurant that is, it must be closed by now... I was really surprised when soy sauce was optional here, when it is actually one of the main ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki avery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I like the combination of meats in this recipe. I like the vinegar flavor and added some canned veggies to rice for a more balanced meal. I accidentally decreased the salt to 3 tsp and it probably made a huge difference. It was very tasty with a good strong kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Too salty really. I am Filipino and this is something that might help everyone... dont knock it till you taste it because it will be good... -- same amounts of pork and chicken -- mix the ratio of vinegar and soy with 1:1 meaning one cup soy one cup vinegar -- do not crack the bay leaf... just put two whole bay leaves with pepper corn in it... -- now here's the kicker... with all the ingredients together with 2 cloves of smashed garlic, soy, vinegar, the pepper and the bay leaf, add a tea spoon of Worcestershire on it... then shove it all into a pressure cooker -- cook for 20 minutes and take it out... drain the meat from the sauce.. pick up the oil residue and put in a frying pan. Fry all the meats (Pork and Chicken) till tender and dry... Serve in a deep sauce pan and pour all the Sauce... This will taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. Soy saude is a must, salt, you can definitely do away with, and bay leaves? that is also a must. i like salty, but this went overboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTRESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I gave this a 3 Star cuz I haven't actually tried making it this way, but just reading that soy sauce is optional... well, I'll have to agree with the other Filifolks in here. Soy sauce is a MUST. Oh, also my Chinese grandmother used to throw in hard-boiled quail eggs in the broth/sauce. Or regular hard-boiled chicken eggs when she ran out of money to get the expensive quail eggs. You can tell your non-Filipino friends, "OMFG, my chicken adobo laid some eggs!!!" Oh, plus, PLUS!!! Try adding some coconut milk in there. Mmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xinito
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
too salty. remember that it matters what kind of soy sauce you use, perhaps a light soy sauce for the amount is more appropriate (but i'm thinking cutting down on salt would still be necessary). there is something big missing, where's the Laurel (bay leaf)? it's one of the primary ingredients but it didn't make it to the list,making the recipe gravely incomplete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasay City, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Beppu, Oita, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States