Pork and Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very good- I did in the crock-pot instead and doubled the recipe for leftovers and added extra beans...next time I will lessen the liquid (too much for the crock-pot, as was more like a soup) and use reduced-sodium broth as the chorizo is VERY salty. Next time I will add some sauted green pepper and diced tomatoes to the mix- this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I made this last night, amazing! However, I did use spare ribs, which I cooked in the oven for a few hours, and let the stew simmer for a couple of more hours with a bit of cumin and paprika. I topped the dish off with cilantro and a little sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Nice taste, easy to make. Too much liquid though, I doubled the recipe but should not have doubled the chicken stock. Either that or add more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This stew is SENSATIONAL. I had leftover pork tenderloin I didn't know what to do with, so I chose this recipe not really knowing what to expect. Boy am I glad I did. It was a huge hit with my family. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Real Cake Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was a wonderful stew and I really am not a stew eater. I made it one evening to serve for lunch the next day and I had two bowls of it before I went to bed. I could not put it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was awesome! I did adjust the chicken broth to bean ratio for a thicker stew (1 1/2 cans beans to 1 1/4 cup chicken broth). I couln't find chorizo so I used ham and seasoned with cumin, ancho powder, paprika, and cayenne. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Had an extra pork tenderloin and no time to marinate it and came across this recipe. I doubled the beans but left everything else the same and it is wonderful!! Making it for a second time tonight. Didn't need salt or pepper. Between the pork and chorizo, there's plenty of spice. Oh, I did use bulk chorizo...just easier for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This stew was good but needed more in it. I added a can of mixed beans and another can of blakc beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Delicious! Instead of the pork tenderloin, I used some leftover pulled pork that I had in the fridge, and also added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of corn. Super quick, easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Used sweet Italian sausage since I was taking it to a BBQ with small kids. It was a huge hit! Double the beans plus added more stock. Used the oil from the sausage to saute the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States