Pork and Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I made the recipe as written - and it was good, but nothing special. It lacked seasoning. So, after eating a bowl, I doctored it up. I added fresh diced tomatoes, a diced/seeded jalapeño, sliced fresh banana pepper, 1 tsp. cumin and 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper. This gave the dish the seasoning we felt was missing. The thickness of the broth was great and gave it a stew texture. I served this with 'Jalapeño Green Onion Ale Corn Bread' from AR. It was a nice dinner on a very chilly September evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was yum! I used what I had available. One 1lb plus teriyaki tenderloin, and a package of Tofurkey Chorizo style ground "meat" because I had it on hand instead of chorizo sausage. Used two cans of black beans (one mashed, one not) and water instead of chicken broth for the sodium save. Served with tortillas day one and over rice day two. The Chorizo sub had lots of seasoning and salt as did the teriyaki tenderloin so it was very flavorful - maybe even too much salt. A plain tenderloin would have been better. Everyone ate it up and after day two (only due to the fact that there are only three of us) nothing left. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
OuSTANDing and great for the second half of the Val-U-Pack of boneless pork sirloins. I used the ground chorizo made by my local grocer, just pre-cooked and drained the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Made this tonight and I absolutely loved it! One bowl sure fills you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I was suspicious when I looked at the ingredient list and saw that this doesn't call for any spices. And I was right to be!.. this stew is BLAND. I doused it in hot sauce once it was on my plate and that helped a bit, but yeah, there's very little flavor here otherwise. To the people saying it's too thin: you need to simmer it longer and let the liquid cook off! This was worth trying, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpitingolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Delicious! Instead of the pork tenderloin, I used some leftover pulled pork that I had in the fridge, and also added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of corn. Super quick, easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Everyone in the family liked this one. I did have to use mild italian sausage as our local store didn't have chorizo. I then served it over brown rice. Great recipe, that one could easily play around with. Some future options: diced tomatoes, cilantro, cumin. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I made this last night for dinner. I forgot the chicken stock and left out the onion. but I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Felt like pork on my fork tonight and made this amazing recipe. My husband does not like spices and he simply adored this pork recipe tonight.. going to have to share with all m friends. Thanks just amazing with portuguese fresh buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mcorreia
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Flavor was ok but so many beans my stomach couldn't handle it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Collingham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States