Pork a la Steve Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
The tanginess of the orange marmalade and the soy sauce was reminisced of the Orient. What a delightful combination with the cilantro and the not too overpowering garlic flavour. I found I had to cook the tenderloin on a low to moderate grill because the sugar in the marmalade caramelized too quickly. We accompanied this recipe with fried sesame noodles. The Tenderloin was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Neff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
The flavor was great, but I did things differently. I spooned on the marmalade. Needed no where near 12 oz. Then I sprinkled with garlic powder, soy sauce and ground ginger and then the chopped cilantro. Is 1 1/2 cups soy sauce correct? I used about 1/4 cup. I marinated for 3 hrs turning occasionally and then put on the grill. It took alittle longer than 15 mins per side. But was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amelia Court House, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This was a pretty good recipe. I used 2 small 10 oz pork tenderloins instead of thr larger roast(grilled them for about 4 minutes on each side for medium temp). I also only made half of the marinade in the recipe, and used a large plastic ziploc bag instead of the shallow pan. The meat came out much more flavorful that way. The original amount of the marinade seemed excessive, even for 2 lbs of meat. The last thing i did was make a glaze with 2 Tblspns of Orange Marmalade, 1 tspn of soy sauce,a handufl of chopped cilantro, and half a clove of garlic finely minced. I warmed the glaze in the microwave for thirty seconds and poured it over the meat while serving. It came out great, will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
We served this recipe at a dinner party for 15 guests. The feeling was mutual. This recipe is a winner! Following the first reviewer's lead, we reduced the amount of marmalade, but it was still to much. I will change the instructions to mix the marmalade, soy sauce, and garlic thoroughly prior to placing the meat in it. The zip loc bag idea of one reviewer is a good approach. We also added the glaze option, but omitted the garlic from this glace. This mixture also became a good 'sauce' to keep the meat moist. With these adds, it is great! My family is already asking for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCOWGILL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
My husband absolutely loved this recipe. Very easy and very good. My kids enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBS32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was really good...I served for hubby's friend who came for dinner. Did use the grill pan and had to reduce the heat level because the natural sugars started to burn a little bit. I cut the pork into medallions to stretch it out a bit. I also decided to add just a little bit of grated fresh ginger to the marinade....thought it would work well, and it did. I halved the marinade and reduced the second half on the stove to make a thick sauce...to pour on top of white rice and the finished pork. Really good stuff...thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Thanks Katie this is a winner! As others have suggested, we also kept the BBQ on a low heat to prevent the marmelade scorching. We have made this a few times already using both tenderloin and pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
We used this recipe for pork chops vs. pork tenderloins - it had a great flavor on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJ
Home Town: Sauk Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Great recipe. I used much less marinade, just eyeballed the amounts and mixed it in a ziploc. Grilled on medium. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CarlyB
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I made quite a few changes. I used only 1 cup of soy sauce, added 1/2 tsp bottled minced ginger, and then I baked it (low and slow to avoid burning the marinade) under aluminum foil for 30 minutes at 350F, removed foil and inserted a digital thermometer, and finished cooking to 165F. Meanwhile, I poured the excess marinade in a sauce pan, added 1/4 cup chinese rice wine, and boiled for 5 minutes for safety, then simmered while the pork cooked. The reduced sauce ended up the best part of the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States