Porcupine Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Pretty good. The family all enjoyed it. I usually always follow the recipe for "porcupines" on this site but thought this seemed worth a try. I will make again. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I've been making these for a few years now -- this recipe is one of my regulars. The whole family likes them! I add one tsp of Worcestershire and also a dollop of jarred garlic (mixing them into the meat). Also, I typically use brown instant rice and after browning the meatballs in a small amount of olive oil (no shortening), I pop 'em into my crockpot! About 2 hours or so on low and they're perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was good! My kids liked it, my husband liked it, and I couldn't stop eating it! I mistakenly added the mustard in with the meat mixture, but it still turned out well. I've already gotten a second request for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
These meatballs are just simply good. My picky teens both complimented me and my husband loved them too. They appeal to wide variety of tastes. I used ground turkey instead of beef and omited the onion and garlic because my husband hates them. I just put in a little onion and garlic powder so he wouldn't know. I also added worchestshire to the sauce and the meatballs as recommended by someone else. I browned them in a covered skillet and then baked them until done. They came out very tender. I doubled the batch and we had them on pasta the next night. Everyone still loved them. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I found this recipe in a Home and Gardens cook book in the early 80's. It was always a favorite when my children were little and is still a hit with the grandchildren. Besides being quick, it's another great use for hamberger in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Very good recipe. Along with other reviewers, I doubled the rice and baked meatballs in the oven. After 30mins at 350, I ladled sauce on top of the meatballs and cooked another 15mins. I also used half ground beef and half italian sausage-which did add to the baking time. I did make a few with just ground beef and the whole family agreed, the ones with sausage were far and away the best. I served these over egg noodles but do not recommend the tomato soup sauce as a gravy. I think good, homemade spaghetti sauce would be better, after they were baked with the original sauce. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
The meatballs were alright. The sauce was a little too tangy for our taste. If you cook too long the meatballs fall apart. Good for folks with tangy tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: New Hamburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Wonderful, husband loved them and the kids ate them too. I also added worcestershire sauce because others did but mostly because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I guess I'm the only one who didn't love these! Thay had a funny aftertaste to me. Husband said "Eh" and ate three, No one else would eat them and the leftovers got thrown out. Thanks anyway for your submission,but I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Great taste! Loved the sauce! I too added the Worcestershire sauce both to the meatball mix and to the sauce. I'm going to use this recipe the next time I make stuffed green peppers - far better taste than the recipe I've used in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States