Porcupine Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
My family really enjoyed this dish. I made a few changes. I used V8 hot and spicy instead of tomato soup, onion powder, minced garlic, Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard and I added black pepper, Worcestershire Sauce and celery seed. I put the mustard in my meat mixture and in the sauce. I think the sauce should be at least doubled if not tripled, really good with mash potatoes. Next time I make this Im going to double everything except for the meat, my family likes alot of flavor and I'm going to cook it like a meat loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe and it was great; the second time I made it I used 1 Lb ground beef and 1 Lb ground turkey doubling the balance of the ingredients, I also baked them until they were browned, then stewed them in whole canned tomatoes quartered. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Needed more sauce, added 1/2 can canned milk and 1/2 can water. These were a big hit with the kids, will definitely double the batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
great. I just used regular tomato sauce, and oil instead of shortening. MY 10-month old couldn't get enough - and my 3.5 year old enjoyed, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
The whole family liked these. I used instant brown rice, and browned without shortening in a non-stick skillet to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made a lot of changes to the recipe and it turned out AWESOME. ****(Next time I make this I am going to cook meatballs in oven to brown them--they are pretty delicate and hard to turn in a frying pan without breaking them...you could also add sauce and cover with foil to finish the recipe in the oven)****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These were great. The only thing I changed was using 1 Tbsp of onion powder because my kids will spend the whole meal picking out onion pieces. Added some garlic to the meatball mix also. Whole family ate them which is a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I am not a big meatball/meatloaf person, but I tried this recipe and really enjoyed the flavor of these. I added 1 tsp of worcestershire sauce to the meat, as I'd seen in some reviews, but that was the only change I made. My husband and I both enjoyed the tangy flavor. Plus, it's a great option we're you're trying to eat cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RomeLover85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
We LOVED this!! I doubled the rice and should have doubled the sauce, but it still came out delicious. I browned the meatballs then put them in the crockpot on low for 2 hours as suggested by another reviewer. Also, I added 1 tsp of worcesteshire to the sauce. Even my one year old gave a satisfied "mmmm" after every bite. My very skeptical fiance finished the leftovers the same night that we had it for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These were very good. I doubled and pretty much followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I did differently was add the garlic directly into the mixture and I also added some Worcestershire to it. I hadn't made porcupines in about 5 years, when my oldest was around 6. She hated them (used a diff. recipe). It was one of only 5 foods she ever swore she hated. Now at 11 she protested loudly when I said I was making them tonight for dinner. However, she LOVED them. I gave her 3 to start out with and she went back for 3 more. These were really good. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceyanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States