Porcini Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I served this for Christmas dinner and it was just okay with my group, myself included. The recipe calls for too much herbs, too much lemon juice (white wine would have been a better substitute) and we found the honey did not complement the sauce at all. I think it's simply that there are just too many flavors going on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
After trying two other recipes from this submitter, I figured why not do this one as well? Came out great! Other two recipes were Asian (Sesame Crusted Mahimahi) and Moroccan (Moroccan Sea Bass Ceviche) in flavor and now this one is French. This person has a very wide range of cooking talent with different cuisines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
For another little tweak on this dish, after you pan sear the pork, let the surface temp. cool for a little bit then wrap the pork tenderloin in proscuitto, serrano ham, or something similar to that before you roast it in the oven. Just watch your seasoning as the proscuitto will also add some saltiness to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was delicious with a capital "D"!! I did find the lemon a little overpowering and I'll cut that amount in half next time. I also used only one pork tenderloin (there's 4 of us) and grilled it. The next time I may decide to double the sauce - it's that good. I used regular white mushrooms which I sauteed ahead of time and used the liquid from that. I substituted chicken broth for the water. I used brandy instead of cognac. You certainly don't need a 1/2 cup of the herbs. A few shakes did it for me. A perfect dish to impress company or your family. EDIT: I've made this numerous times. Along with I said above, I use regular sliced white mushrooms and I simmer the mushrooms with vidalia onion (in place of shallots) in chicken stock - equal to the amount of water listed in the recipe. when the mushroom are cooked through, I add the other ingredients according to the recipe. Much easier and very tasty. 1/2 lemon is not enough and a whole lemon is too much so I'm somewhere in the middle with how much I add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Great recipe! I followed it exactly and it turned out great. Very easy and quick to prepare, yet very impressive. My guests loved it. The meat was tender and juicy and the sauce was so delicious... slightly sweet and very flavourful. All my guests wanted the recipe. Thanks for sharing, Ryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Bremen, Bremen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This came out really good! The sauce was unbelievable! Served it with garlic mashed potatoes and sauted veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
excellent! tried with family and am ecxcited to serve for guests tonight. really really fancy tasting dish that is extremely easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was one of the most delicious recipes I've ever made, and I'm not even a big fan of pork. I had to make some substitutions based on what was in the house...used many of the component herbs, but didn't have herbes de provence. Had to use sherry instead of cognac. Used white button mushrooms instead of porcini. Anyway, it still came out perfectly. My husband and I both raved about how good it was. The honey was an especially great addition to the sauce. I had my doubts and used a little less than the recipe called for, but it added such depth and a delicious sweetness to the sauce. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This recipe is amazing! I did not alter it one iota and it was perfect. the sauce is sophisticated and suitable for the most gracious entertaining. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Broad Brook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I am a beginner (really basic!!) cook but this recipe made look like a chef. I did not have cognac but I searched over the internet for substitutions and used apricot juice(nectar). Since the juice was already sweet, I omitted the honey. Used 1/2 lemon following other suggestions. Used all the herbs de provence and did not mind. About the sauce, the instructions OMIT when to mix the heavy cream and I splashed it when the sauce was reduced. The sauce was wonderful. The pork needs to be seasoned with salt and pepper before the marinade, I found it a little bland though full of flavor. And yes, you HAVE to double the sauce. Oh! And I used bottom mushrooms (the cheap ones) and makes no difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States