Porcini Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Fantastic !!! My family asked for this receipe again within the first week of making it for the first time. It will be a regular "special occassion" dinner for us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is one of the best recipes I have ever made, and our guests all loved it too. My 9 year old niece loved the leftovers. I followed others ideas and used less herbes de provence (1/4 cup) and less lemon juice. I also used baby portabello mushrooms. I cannot wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was one of the most delicious recipes I've ever made, and I'm not even a big fan of pork. I had to make some substitutions based on what was in the house...used many of the component herbs, but didn't have herbes de provence. Had to use sherry instead of cognac. Used white button mushrooms instead of porcini. Anyway, it still came out perfectly. My husband and I both raved about how good it was. The honey was an especially great addition to the sauce. I had my doubts and used a little less than the recipe called for, but it added such depth and a delicious sweetness to the sauce. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is fantastic! Was better than any pork I've had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I served this for Christmas dinner and it was just okay with my group, myself included. The recipe calls for too much herbs, too much lemon juice (white wine would have been a better substitute) and we found the honey did not complement the sauce at all. I think it's simply that there are just too many flavors going on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was fantastic. The pork tenderloin tasted great without the sauce, but once you added the sauce it was outstanding. We did make one change because we were unable to get porcini's, but substitued with baby portabellas. Honestly you couldn't tell the difference and you can save a pretty penny by substituting. We served this for a catering party we did and everyone kept talking about how great the pork was. We will definately keep this on our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was delicious with a capital "D"!! I did find the lemon a little overpowering and I'll cut that amount in half next time. I also used only one pork tenderloin (there's 4 of us) and grilled it. The next time I may decide to double the sauce - it's that good. I used regular white mushrooms which I sauteed ahead of time and used the liquid from that. I substituted chicken broth for the water. I used brandy instead of cognac. You certainly don't need a 1/2 cup of the herbs. A few shakes did it for me. A perfect dish to impress company or your family. EDIT: I've made this numerous times. Along with I said above, I use regular sliced white mushrooms and I simmer the mushrooms with vidalia onion (in place of shallots) in chicken stock - equal to the amount of water listed in the recipe. when the mushroom are cooked through, I add the other ingredients according to the recipe. Much easier and very tasty. 1/2 lemon is not enough and a whole lemon is too much so I'm somewhere in the middle with how much I add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
We liked the flavor combination of the shallots and porcinis. I took the recommendation of other reviewers and cut the herbes de Provence in half. It was still a bit heavy. I may have reduced the sauce a little too much as I didn't end up with very much. So next time I make this I will double the sauce and cut the herbes de Provence even further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
An excellent main dish. Relatively easy to prepare as well. I couldn't find the dried porcini mushrooms so used fresh baby portabella. I sauteed them in the leftover oil after browning the tenderloins; then continued on with the recipe. I also just substituted brandy for the cognac as it is what I had available. My husband even liked it, which says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I made this for my husband and he loved it. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States