Porchetta Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
You can also stuff the porchetta just before you tie it with Collard Greens, Kale, or a bulb of anise. Some stuff prosciutto slices it it too! Like every other recipe around the world, many folk have added different items to the roast... be sure to roast potatoes quartered in the pork drippings. You also may have to remove some of the drippings from the pan. Great stuff! I actually stuff stems of rosemary in the roast and remove them as I slice to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ciaotebaldi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Great recipe! Made it for New Year's Eve dinner and it was a big hit with my Italian husband. He said he was having flashbacks to his childhood in the Abruzzeze region of Italy and buying a porchetta sandwich from the street vendors. Only marinated for maybe a day, and skipped the dill weed coz I did not have any. I had an 8 lb bone in pork shoulder, and it took maybe about 3-1/2 hours. Tender, moist, fragrant, fatty goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Don't use dill weed. Use rosemary and a little bit of nutmeg instead. Use lots of black pepper and sprinkle with a little bit of crushed red pepper. To make it more traditional, get a half pork belly, butterfly it and stuff it with two pork butts with skin and bone removed. Get the belly with the skin on if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
BE WARNED!!!...This is an authentic variation of the Porchetta....It is NOT nor was it ever intented to be a LEAN Healthy Roast! This most popular preparation in Italy, is most commonly made from an entire Pig or for smaller amounts just the Pork BELLY. It is intended to be a celebration of the Piggy in all it wonderful FATTY, FLAVORFUL, GOODNESS! ENJOY YOURSELF for once, you can go back to Carrot Sticks and Fat Free Yogurt tomorrow! BTW...450F for the first 30 minutes will yield a crispier skin and shallow Cross cuts, just through the skin, will make the roast pretty and easier to portion the tasty 'cracklin'. Happy New Year...JJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Just like we used to get up in the Iron Range of Northern Minnesota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Im sorry but this was not appetizing at all. My husband thought that was the worst cut of meat I ever made. Very Fatty. I also didn't like the idea of having it sit raw for 3 days!! It had a funny taste. Some people on the site liked it though so see for yourself. It just wasn't for us. We are Italian and never had a roast like this before. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Wow! This was the best pork roast I have ever made. The flavor was great. My roast was tender and moist. But I did cook it in a roasting bag because I was afraid I would dry it out. I also used a meat thermometer and made sure that I didn't over cook it. I took one reviewers suggestion and cut the salt in half just because I didn't want it to be overly salty. You can add it but you can't take it away. I'm glad I did because it was perfect. This is now my favorite pork roast recipe. UPDATE: Most of the time I only marinate this for 6-8 hours and it still has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Im writting you all again, I was the review OVATION, Now Im telling you this I have made this for almost every x-mas and I have to make more due to everyone wants leftovers to bring home. It is such a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I think maybe I just don't like this cut of pork. But I wanted to give it a try. It was so unappealing that I couldn't even bring myself to serve it. Perhaps it would be better with a pork loin, however I will not try again that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Last year I made this for my family for x-mas and they just loved it, every year I try a new theme but this year they wanted the same they liked it so SO MUCH. I is very good and I think fast due to its all preped 3 days before and the roast is cheap..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Porchetta

See Chef John’s simple, savory take on classic stuffed porchetta.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States