Pop's Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Undoubtedly the BEST pickle recipe ever! I got 5 quarts out of my first batch and allowed them to pickle for two weeks. We all loved them so much the 5 quarts did not last 2 weeks! Put up 9 more quarts which will be ready in a week. Also, I used this brine for my pickled green beans. Can hardly wait to taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Le Sueur, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KERYNE
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Good Basic Recipe for pickles. I made this by cutting my cucumbers into spears and cutting the blossom end off. I could not locate fresh dill heads and did not want the little pieces of green on the pickle, so I used dill seed. What I liked about this recipe is the right balance of salt and sweet, the sterilization instructions, and the amount of processing time, and the fact that you can adapt this recipe to your tastes by adding garlic or hot peppers. I did add 1/4 tsp of pickling crisp to each of my quart jars based upon advice from other Canners. I used two tsps of dill seed per jar and added half of a seeded serrano pepper to two of the 4 jars. My daughter is intrigued by the process so I am going back to the farmer's market for more cucumbers. Thanks for sharing a great recipe that takes me down memory lane. UPDATE After 8 wks, we opened a jar and they were delicious. The pickles are crunchy and the taste of the dill, garlic, salt, vinegar, and sugar are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These are great dill pickles. I used 1 tbsp of crushed red pepper instead of pickling spice with some of the pickles and they were really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
These pickles are the best! The only recipe I use anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I found this recipe on another site a few weeks ago. It was my first try at making pickles. It was super easy. I just tried my first pickle a couple days ago and they were fantastic. I liked them so much, I made another 8 jars last night. The recipe I made also called for mustard and celery seed. Not sure what the taste difference is; but it does add a nice look to the pickles in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is a really nice and adaptable pickle recipe. I had 14 3-4 pickling cukes from a friend and ended up with 4 pints of spears and two pints of chips. I used my v-slicer to cut the chips. I didn't bother with the cheesecloth because I like the way it looks to have the spices floating in the jar. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar because we don't really like sweet pickles, and I added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes for fun. I just used kosher salt because that's what I had. Next time I'm going to pop a few grape leaves in the jars too. The pickles are delicious, and it was fun to experiment with canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Too mushy and too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made these pickles about a month ago and am making more today again.....my family just wouldnt quit eating them ...they are so good and crisp. I have been canning awhile and this is the best recipe to date...!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe! Although I love garlic, I prefer the simpler taste of "Pop's" original recipe without garlic. The first time I made these, I didn't have dill heads or seed, so I substituted 4 sprigs of fresh dill weed per 1 litre jar (2 sprigs at the bottom, 2 sprigs on top), and the result was great. I find have to increase the brine recipe by about a half to make sure I can fully cover the pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s©tt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Amazing, perfect dill-pickle flavor. I did mine as slices and they're the BEST. I'll be making these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States