Pop's Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is the first time I ever made/canned pickles. I must tell you that these were the absolute best pickles I have ever had. I just opened the first jar after about a week - I loved them, my wife loved them, my three year old loved them and my one year old loved them! I will be making these for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Good, but thought my pickles were slightly soft. Tried Ball pickle crisp- utter fail! Ruined the ones I made with it, I'm going back to following the "pure" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Excellent pickles. The ice soak keeps them crisp. As usual we add a little more dill and use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Great recipe, but the amount of water/vinegar is way off. As prepared with proper sized cukes I used 5 cups of water and 5 cups vinegar and could only fill 5 jars. These were persian slim cukes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
If your pickles turn out too salty, like mine did, then just pour out about 1/3 of the brine from the jar and fill with water. In a day or two, the saltiness will go down! I just discovered this by experimenting, and now my once-too-salty pickles are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
an excellent snack. Full of flavour. The longer these pickles sit sealed the better the flavour. They start out salty in the early days after canning but two weeks later the garlic melds witht vinegar and salt reducing the salty flavour. I reccommend letting them sit for at least two weeks before opening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
very nice pop's I use this recipe year after year with the supplie of cucu's from the garden.. they turn out excellent everytime... I add turmic to mine just to give it that bought at the store look and smell... thanks for sharing this one will get handed down to the kid's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I used this recipe for my very first attempt at making pickles and they're awesome! has anyone tried to use this recipe to pickle eggs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
These pickles are so good! I followed the recipe exactly, except I guess I didn't read it thoroughly and I skipped the ice bath. The pickles still came out wonderfully! I enjoy the little bit of sweetness and like the fact that they are not overwhelmingly vinegary. Will make again and again. My family requests them now. This year I am trying to zest some of the jars up by adding some hot peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly except I didn't use the cheesecloth because I like the look of the spices in the jar. These pickles are great! I've made pickles before and threw them away because they were soft. These turned out crisp with just the right amount of dill and spicy flavors. Perfect pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States