Pop's Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
These pickles are so good! I followed the recipe exactly, except I guess I didn't read it thoroughly and I skipped the ice bath. The pickles still came out wonderfully! I enjoy the little bit of sweetness and like the fact that they are not overwhelmingly vinegary. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly except I didn't use the cheesecloth because I like the look of the spices in the jar. These pickles are great! I've made pickles before and threw them away because they were soft. These turned out crisp with just the right amount of dill and spicy flavors. Perfect pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Just made a large batch of these...very simple, I needed to make more brine. Was surprised at the amount of sugar but I don't like an overly sour pickle. Looking forward to my first chomp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
These pickles are okay, my wife likes them but I am put off a little by the use of pickling spice and sugar. They just arent' what I was looking for in a dill pickle. Nice crunch factor after covering my cucumbers in ice for 4-5 hours, but not the flavor profile I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
First time ever making pickles. I too cut off the blossom end. So crunchy and taste great. I added a couple extra cloves and ground ginger to my recipe and strained the liquid into the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
although the flavor is excellent I do not find them crisp at all. Is there another non chemical way to make them like store boughten crisp?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe perfectly. I filled 6 quart jars, but only had enough brine mixture for four and 1/2 jars. I packed the cucs tightly. Very disappointed. I don't know what happened as I didn't read this problem in any of the previous comments. If I make them again, I will make a double batch of brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
There's no way this recipe makes 7 quarts. I just made it and there was only enough pickling liquid to fill 3 quarts. It just wouldve been nice if it were accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I made 1 1/2 recipes of syrup, and still didn't quite have enough. Maybe I prefer more juice in my jars than most? That was my only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
It was way easy! I can't wait to try them in 3 weeks!!! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States