Pop's Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe to a tee, but ended up having to double the amount of brine, despite having packed the cukes into the jars tightly. After about two weeks, I decided to try them. The smell when I first opened the jar was good, but the taste of the pickles was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These taste like Claussen pickles but are a little bit sweeter. They are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie Duckworth
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe for three years . The only thing I do different is add the pickling spices to the jar as I never know how much brine to make as I grow my own cucumbers and some days I have 3 and others 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Duckworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Pickle were crisp and tasty but felt they were a little too salty for my taste. Per other reviews cut back on sugar and that may account for the extra saltiness. Maybe sugar is needed to balance that. Next time I will cut back on the pickling salt. I also added pickle crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My teenage daughter and niece loved them! However the boys and I did not. Even after doing the ice bath and cutting the flowering ends my pickles weren't that crispy. Maybe I'm just used to the store bought ones that give a big crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Buckler

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Great recipe. no real need to put the pickling spice in cheesecloth. boil it with your mixture and add to the jars as you fill with brine. I cracked a jar open after one day and they are already excellent. I am on my 2nd run today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Zabel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Made 2 batches of these so far--the first one is almost gone! Used only 1/4 cup sugar this time. These are excellent! Until now, I have never had homemade pickles that I liked. I added 1/2 teaspoon turmeric, just because I like the color. I saw someone else suggested that, and I think it works well. It's also supposed to be anti-inflammatory, so how wrong can you go?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Douglas B. Tomlinson
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
These pickles are fantastic. I just made them and I did one small jar to try immediately. They should be even better after they sit for a while. The only thing is, unless I did something wrong, I don't think this will do seven quart jars. I used the full recipe. I didn't weigh the cucumbers, but I wound up with 3 quarts and a pint packed pretty tight. I barely had enough juice for that. Maybe that should be pints? Did anybody get seven quarts? Anyway they turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I am absolutely delighted with this recipe. It is going to be printed and added to my permanent collection of recipes. I was not able to find pickling spice so I made my own from another recipe on here. I made them exactly like the recipe, and processed them basically the same. My husband and kids also love them. Def the best garlic Dill pickles ever. (Now try them fried, they are AMAZING) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefrickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
it was a easy recipe to use. but after letting them sit I really would not view this as a dill pickle recipe. when we tried them they were really strong after sitting only 8 days and were sweet with a hint of dill. if you are looking for a dill pickle recipe I would not use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States